Some modest writing goals for the first quarter of 2014

The email reminding us to post our first round goals went right under my radar somehow, so I’m coming a bit late to the party this time. I’m going to start out this round with very modest goals. Seeing as I’m behind on the translation, I really have to get caught up with that, and until I do, I’m going to have to allow my writing goals to take back seat for a while. Not only that, there’s been a bit of a setback. I found out today that I was sent the wrong version of the file to translate, an older one that doesn’t contain current changes. Not sure yet how much extra work that’s going to entail, sigh.

Writing:

- Write every day, aiming for at least a page, or 250 words. This is really low for me, and once I manage to catch up on the translation, I can raise my goals. At that point, I will also add some specific project goals.

Business:

- Be done with the Big Translation Project by the end of the round

Writing business:

- Publish Chameleon in a Mirror

- Publish Island of Glass

- Publish “The Shadow Artist”

- Upload “Leaving Sweater” to Smashwords and make it free

- Publish Shadow of Stone to B&N, Smashwords and D2D

- Publish “Mars, A Traveler’s Guide” to Amazon and make it free

- Make Author Page for Amazon.de and Amazon.uk

- Update my blog’s book page

- Submit a short story a week to traditional publishers

So that’s it for me for the moment. Once I have more time to write again, I’ll revise!

Wishing everyone a very successful first round. :)

About Ruth Nestvold

Ruth Nestvold's short fiction has appeared in numerous markets, including Asimov's, F&SF, Baen's Universe, Strange Horizons, Scifiction, and Gardner Dozois's Year's Best Science Fiction. Her fiction has been nominated for the Nebula, Tiptree, and Sturgeon Awards. In 2007, the Italian translation of her novella "Looking Through Lace" won the "Premio Italia" award for best international work. Her novel Flamme und Harfe appeared in translation with the German imprint of Random House, Penhaligon, in 2009 and has since been translated into Dutch and Italian. She maintains a web site at www.ruthnestvold.com.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

6 Responses to Some modest writing goals for the first quarter of 2014

  1. Modest goals often work better for me because when I get going I can often surpass them, and when I’m struggling they at least seem do-able.

  2. Sounds like a good start. I’m starting off slow on my writing goals too, because of some other stuff I have on my plate. Hope the mixup from the translation author doesn’t result in too much extra work (and that you get paid for what it does!).

  3. Hi Ruth, the main thing is you are writing and you are certainly productive. I am so busy in catch up phase at the moment, I haven’t got much done except my blog posts, but I am moving forward. That is what matters: not being stagnant, quitting or being lazy. I can’t imagine you doing any of those things.

    Best of luck in 2014.

Leave a Reply

