A brief update, and Celemon among the horses for #WIPpet Wednesday

Sunday, I didn’t get around to posting on my progress, so I will just give a brief update here before I get on with the real business of the day, WIPpet Wednesday!

The translation is coming along well again, now that I’ve that I’ve transferred the German into the correct file.

Given the time I need to devote to the translation, it seems to have been a wise decision to only shoot for a page a day of original work for the time being. Because I can proudly announce that I am exceeding my goal on that front. :) Last week, I managed 1800 words (barely over 250 a day *g*). The first two days of this week, I’ve gotten almost 1,000 words written. For now, I’m jumping back and forth between A Wasted Land and Amber’s story, as the mood strikes me.

I also submitted a short story to a traditional market again! I hadn’t done that for months. It wasn’t on my to-do list, but it’s been in the back of my brain for a long time, that I really have to get back to submitting short stories. So I think I’m going to add that to the list. I’ll shoot for one short story a week, I think. That really should be doable without too much time or trouble.

Now on to WIPpet Wednesday. My math today is easy: 1+15=16. I’m giving you 16 sentences from a scene in which Celemon is picking Cador’s brain about being Master of Horse:

Celemon walked the perimeter of one of the fenced pastures below the hill-fort of Dyn Draithou with Cador, feeling happier than she could have deemed possible just months ago, when she had learned publicly of Aurelius’s infidelity. August sun was warm on their backs, little Riona ran ahead of them, laughing, and Celemon was wearing her riding trousers, which always gave her a singular sense of freedom.
“I feel as if I am telling you no more than you already know,” Cador complained, but there was a smile in his friendly brown eyes.
“No, please, don’t stop!” Celemon said, laughing. “I have never actually run stables myself, I have only helped out. You were Arthur’s Master of Horse for a time. I need all the instruction you are willing to give.”
“Good. Then please stop me if I tell you too much about something you already know backward and forward.” Energetic Riona began climbing up to the top of the fence, and Cador laid a fatherly hand on her waist, to make sure he could grab her is she started tumbling over. “That’s far enough, Riona.”
He turned his attention back to Celemon, one eye still on his small daughter. “There are extensive stables in Caer Leon for the British forces already, but if Kustennin decides it is necessary to set up stables for the war horses closer to the lands Cerdic holds, there are several things you need to keep in mind when deciding on a site.”
“It’s hard to breed horses on a hilltop,” Celemon said with a smile.
Cador chuckled. “So you have heard that little saying of mine.”

WIPpet Wednesday is the brain child of K. L. Schwengel. If you’d like to participate, post an excerpt from your WIP on your blog, something that relates to the date in some way. Then add your link here — where you can also read the other excerpts. :)

Related posts:

- Back by popular demand: An excerpt from A Wasted Land for #WIPpet Wednesday

- Research, lack of words, and another #WIPpet for Wednesday

- Excuses department: getting rid of tomatoes

- More from A Wasted Land for #WIPpet Wednesday

About Ruth Nestvold

Ruth Nestvold's short fiction has appeared in numerous markets, including Asimov's, F&SF, Baen's Universe, Strange Horizons, Scifiction, and Gardner Dozois's Year's Best Science Fiction. Her fiction has been nominated for the Nebula, Tiptree, and Sturgeon Awards. In 2007, the Italian translation of her novella "Looking Through Lace" won the "Premio Italia" award for best international work. Her novel Flamme und Harfe appeared in translation with the German imprint of Random House, Penhaligon, in 2009 and has since been translated into Dutch and Italian. She maintains a web site at www.ruthnestvold.com.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

27 Responses to A brief update, and Celemon among the horses for #WIPpet Wednesday

  1. I’m glad things are peaceful for her in this scene. I imagine finding out about any infidelity would rock your world, let alone in a public setting.

  2. Amy says:

    Ooh, publicly finding out about infidelity? *cringe* That makes my heart hurt for her.

  3. kathils says:

    Celemon and horses…two of my favorites. I can relate to the little speech Cador gives her about telling her things she already knows…I’ve been in that situation. I love the little touches you add to build character — like Cador steadying his daughter on the fence.

  4. ReGi McClain says:

    I love that there’s a kid along, even if just barely takes up a sentence in the scene. Soooo many stories ignore the reality of children except to mention them in passing. :-) And it’s such a natural moment, too. :-)

  5. widdershins says:

    Fingers crossed on the submission. “D

  6. widdershins says:

    let’s try that smile again … :D

  7. Gloria Weber says:

    Glad your ROW80 is going well and good luck with the addition to your goals.

    The WIPpet felt quite warm and bright. It had a nice feeling to it. Of course, this gets me all suspicious, like it might be a lull/bright spot right before some epic, horrible happenings. And I’m jealous of their August sun, as I have January snow outside.

  8. I love the flexibility of ROW80, confirming that it’s all right to modify our goals as needed. And adding one short story per week . . . ambitious. Good for you. Enjoy the remainder of the week.

  9. Adrian says:

    lol great excerpt, great to see so much of the characters and their personalities floating through there.

  10. Eden says:

    I can see how some critique partners might have an issue with Riona. The goal of each word/sentence being that it only be included if it adds something to the plot of the story….

    That said, they aren’t writing the book, you are, and they might be seeing a totally different story than the one that you are trying to write. By adding the child, you’re creating a more real world, you’re adding a dimension to Cador, giving the reader an added sense of unease when (as you note) all things must eventually fall apart…

    And nice progress on your goals, Ruth.

    • Thanks, Eden! And you’re totally on the mark with Riona — not to mention the fact that she played a very important role plot-wise in the previous book, and if she suddenly disappeared now, it might be kind of odd … :)

  11. I like the wider story you allude to here about the war taking place and how your characters are discussing it in a very matter of fact way. They are relaxed together and unafraid. I wonder if they’re a couple? The descriptions you use are beautiful too, with the horses and the pasture.

  12. Beth Camp says:

    What great progress this week. I’m hoping the rest of this week has gone as well. :) I love the energy in this WIPpet, despite the calm mood, much is revealed of characters and relationships — and coming challenges. The ending? Perfect that she knows the saying and that he would smile.

  13. Pingback: The turret, and more from A Wasted Land for #WIPpet Wednesday | Ruth Nestvold – Indie Adventures

Leave a Reply

