#ROW80: My writing goals for the second quarter 2014

I realize we were supposed to post our goals yesterday, but I was tagged in the writing process meme, and I rarely have time for more than one blog post a day. Thus, writing goals for the second quarter 2014 are a day late.

The goals that I didn’t complete last round I am carrying over into this. A number of goals are a bit vague, since I have thirty pages to go on the Big Fat Translation, and I just don’t have enough time or creativity left for big picture writing goals while I’m still working on that. In the spirit of Kait’s excellent post, while I’m still translating this novel, I have to go easy on myself regarding my writing goals. Once that’s done, I can sit around with a spiral notebook for an afternoon, take notes, ask myself questions, and figure out what burns to be written.

On to the specific goals for the next quarter:

Writing:

- Work on writing related projects every day. Once the Big Tranlation Project is done, return to daily page goals.

- Move forward on A Wasted Land

- Finish edits on Recontact (collab eith Jay Lake)

- Finish edits on Island of Glass

- Start Facets of Glass

- Write 2 new short stories

Business:

- Be done with the Big Translation Project by the end of April

Writing business:

- Publish Island of Glass

- Publish Recontact (novella with Jay Lake)

- Publish “The Shadow Artist” as ebook

- Upload “Leaving Sweater” to Smashwords and make it free

- Publish “Mars, A Traveler’s Guide” to Amazon and make it free

- Make Author Page for Amazon.de

- Submit a short story a week to traditional publishers

- Start marketing my ebooks again

Wishing everyone a successful spring!

About Ruth Nestvold

Ruth Nestvold's short fiction has appeared in numerous markets, including Asimov's, F&SF, Baen's Universe, Strange Horizons, Scifiction, and Gardner Dozois's Year's Best Science Fiction. Her fiction has been nominated for the Nebula, Tiptree, and Sturgeon Awards. In 2007, the Italian translation of her novella "Looking Through Lace" won the "Premio Italia" award for best international work. Her novel Flamme und Harfe appeared in translation with the German imprint of Random House, Penhaligon, in 2009 and has since been translated into Dutch and Italian. She maintains a web site at www.ruthnestvold.com.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , . Bookmark the permalink.

10 Responses to #ROW80: My writing goals for the second quarter 2014

  1. Harliqueen says:

    A good set of goals, good luck with it :)

  2. Great goals, Ruth, and I must admit, I’m inspired by Kait’s post to be easier on myself as well this spring.

    I have some major writing for the day job–two presentations in May and June, so I have to put most of my effort in that.

    I’m looking forward to seeing more of your work available. :)

  3. Kate Sparkes says:

    Wow, that’s a big set of goals! I’m here, cheering you on. :)

  4. shanjeniah says:

    You know me. I want everyone to be kinder to themselves, all the time. It sounds like you’ve got a handle on it, though. Basic goals until that BFT is done, then a lovely afternoon wiht a notebook and your dreams….

    I’ve got a good feeling that you’ll be marking some of these off your list soon! =)

  5. Lauren Garafalo says:

    Holy cow! All those projects! I’m so very glad to hear you have all that waiting in the wings. Hope you have a great Round 2!

  6. Pingback: Creative Renaissance: ROW80 Update, 4/9/14 | shanjeniah

  7. Pingback: Guarding the Spark | Leavekeeping

  8. You have a lot on your plate this round! But sounds like you have a good handle on it, especially since you’re going to focus on the translation first. That’s something I’ve found to be a big part of being kind to ourselves–to not overload with too much at once. Good luck with it all!

Leave a Reply

