Late on stating my quarterly goals, but with a good excuse

I’m in England right now, and have being visiting sites for the next novel of the Pendragon Chronicles, A Wasted Land. Today I’m heading off to the east coast of Suffolk for a wedding. Yay! Anyway, as a result, I haven’t had time until now to get my goals for the round sorted out. Woke up early this morning, though, so I figured I could get that done before heading off for the train to London.

Salisbury
Salisbury, where I am now

Writing:

- Write 500 words a day, five days a week, for an average of 2500 words a week.
I’m going to start out on this one with a deficit, since at the moment I’m too tired in the evenings from running around to get any writing done. That’s ok. I’m seeing lots of cool sites that will feed into my writing. And when I get back, I’ll blog about it (see below).

- Write a detailed outline of Facets of Glass

- Integrate critiques from the Villa Diodati workshop into Recontact (novella with Jay Lake)

- Write 2 new short stories

Blog:

- Write a series of detailed posts about the sites I visited and the research I did while here in England.

- Start a series of blog posts for beginning indie authors (per a friend’s request)

Business:

- Go through the edits of the translation project and get it back to the client.

Writing business:

- Submit Recontact (novella with Jay Lake) to traditional magazine markets

- Publish “The Shadow Artist” as ebook

- Get Amazon to price match “The Leaving Sweater” for free.

- Publish “Mars, A Traveler’s Guide” to Amazon and make it free

- Submit 10 short stories to traditional markets during the round.

- Start marketing my ebooks again

Wishing everyone great luck with their goals this quarter!

About Ruth Nestvold

Ruth Nestvold's short fiction has appeared in numerous markets, including Asimov's, F&SF, Baen's Universe, Strange Horizons, Scifiction, and Gardner Dozois's Year's Best Science Fiction. Her fiction has been nominated for the Nebula, Tiptree, and Sturgeon Awards. In 2007, the Italian translation of her novella "Looking Through Lace" won the "Premio Italia" award for best international work. Her novel Flamme und Harfe appeared in translation with the German imprint of Random House, Penhaligon, in 2009 and has since been translated into Dutch and Italian. She maintains a web site at www.ruthnestvold.com.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

4 Responses to Late on stating my quarterly goals, but with a good excuse

  1. Kate Sparkes says:

    Best of luck to you!

    I am so jealous of where you are right now. I’ll get to England some day!

  2. Great goals, Ruth! Also, looks like you’re having a fabulous time! Keep up the good work. :-)

  3. Hope you can stick to your goals! Glad you’re enjoying England. It’s a great country – but then I’m biased. :)

  4. Widdershins says:

    Oh, you tireless researcher, you! :D

Leave a Reply

