Why I prefer weekly goals

I’m working on a new story set on Jupiter’s moon Callisto. I did no pre-writing for this before the Clarion West write-a-thon, and it’s pretty research intensive. Of course, the research is giving me loads of ideas on where the story could go. But the fact remains, right now my daily word count is less than I would like, 1700 words until now for this week. But I have to take into consideration that I started a completely new story, brainstormed from scratch last Friday, and for some idiotic writerly reason, the idea that grabbed me was one where I had *no* research background.

But perhaps that’s part of the reason it grabbed me.

So perhaps my goal for this week will end up being forgiving myself for not reaching my word count or story completion goals. I might still find another project that can be finished in the meantime to still manage the story a week during Clarion, but even if I don’t, I have to be able to tackle a story that’s bigger than I can manage in only a week with my meager knowledge of astrophysics. One of the sticky notes on my monitor is a quote from Michael Swanwick, “Consider greatness as a career strategy.” And we can’t do that if we only write the stories that are easy to write in a week, or where we are always only thinking of daily word count.

4 thoughts on “Why I prefer weekly goals”

  1. What do you mean you know nothing of astrophysics??? 🙂 Instead of beating ourselves up, let’s just pat ourselves on the back for showing up.

    Your story sounds interesting, I can’t wait to hear more about it in the coming weeks.

  2. Ruth,
    I’ll second the comment above. The beauty of ROW80 is the ability to tweak our goals when life (or stubborn story ideas/characters) muck up our plans.

    I love the quotation from Michael Swanwick; I bet your story about Callisto will be great!

    Glad to have you on this Round!

Leave a Reply

