A little research “trip”

I’ve been doing a lot of research for the latest short story in the last couple days, and today I decided to take a little walk to supplement my online and paper resources. The main character of my steampunk story is the niece of Gottlieb Daimler of automotive fame, and she helps him build an airship.

Luckily, the workshop where Daimler and Maybach built their first motorized vehicles is practically in my own backyard, so I went to take another look at it today, this time with story in mind:

Daimler's workshop

And here’s a model of the airship:

Model of Daimler's Luftschiff

Now if that doesn’t get the steampunk creative juices flowing, nothing will!

Even with the research, I got a total of about 1500 new words on the story written Monday and Tuesday. Haven’t gotten around to writing today yet, though.

7 thoughts on “A little research “trip””

  1. This is wonderful, and what a fantastic place to be able to visit! I’m so glad to hear that your steampunk tale is coming along.

  2. Ooh, I want a cool place to go research, too! Very nice, Ruth; I think even I could write steampunk if I looked at that airship long enough!

    You’re doing great! And thanks for the heads-up about my broken link (colored me really tired, lol)

    Have a great rest of the week!

  3. Wow, those are some really beautiful pictures! Makes me want to write steampunk even though I’ve never written steampunk before. 😀 Congratulations on making research progress! Always the hardest part for me, very impressed that you’re doing so well with it.

Leave a Reply

