Write-a-thon: Final Accounting

Recap: For the six weeks of the Clarion West Write-a-thon, I had the following goals:

– finish 6 short stories
– get six stories out on the market for the first time

This is what I accomplished:

– 4 stories finished
– 2 additional stories started but still unfinished
– 2 new stories submitted

My word count for this week was 4600. Total word count for the last six weeks was 22800, for an average of 3800 words a week. That means I’m almost on track for my ROW80 goal, 4000 words a week. The interesting thing was, though, that my word count increased during the course of the six weeks, except week 5, when I fell back from 4400 words to 4000 words.

With two stories still unfinished, I’m revising my ROW80 goals. Originally when the write-a-thon was over, I had planned to get back to revisions on the Aphra Behn novel. I’m still going to do that, but only an hour a day until I complete the other two stories.

I realize I didn’t get everything done that I wanted to do, but I’m fine with that. Four new short stories to shop around, and 2 more in the works, that’s a pretty decent result for six weeks. One thing I’ve learned in the many many years I’ve been writing – it’s so easy to kick yourself, but life’s a lot more pleasant if you forgive yourself instead.

4 thoughts on “Write-a-thon: Final Accounting”

  1. Ruth, I love your last comment–spot on! I think that all those who do not make their goals in these rounds still look at what they have accomplished and feel good about it.

    I think you are doing a fantastic job. I hope you have a great week. Thank you for dropping by my blog.

  2. Oh, that final line! It’s so true, and I appreciate you for pointing it out. Sounds like you’ve accomplished a lot over the past few weeks. Yay for you, finishing 4 short stories!

    Have a lovely week!

Leave a Reply

