A New Look and Some New Projects

Did a lot of work on redesigning my blog in the last couple of days. Chose a new theme, and added a bunch of links to my publications and anthologies containing my stories. Still need to do a lot more, but at least it’s a start. What do folks think – was it worth the work?

I also finished the hard copy revisions for Chameleon in a Mirror, my Aphra Behn time travel novel. I was hoping to hire a freelance editor of my acquaintance, but she’s booked solid through December. I wanted to get the ebook put together before Christmas, though. Does anyone have any suggestions?

This week, I finally started critiquing again on Codex. I got really bad about that while I was working on Shadow of Stone, so I’m pleased that I’m finally getting back into a critique group. A couple of the collabs I’ve done recently have been through Codex as well; I neglected that great community far too long, and it feels good to be back.

The next project I want to tackle is finishing my Callisto story. After that, I’m a little unsure what to do next. Should I go ahead with the Aphra Behn novel? Or should I work on Yseult instead, my retelling of the Tristan and Isolde tale? Since that has been published in translation in German, Dutch, and Italian, I know there’s a potential audience, and the original manuscript has gone through the editing process. Any thoughts on the matter would be greatly appreciated!

10 thoughts on “A New Look and Some New Projects”

  1. The site is looking great. As I was looking it over, I realized that I own both of the SF Anthologies in your sidebar, but haven’t read them completely yet. I’ll be looking for the stories you reference.

    Have a great week, Ruth!

  2. I like the new theme, Ruth, and the rest of the changes in your website–very nice!

    As for the next thing in the hopper–oooh, Iseult?!?!? That warms the medievalist heart. I’ve been playing with retelling some medieval texts as well, but far more obscure ones. For me, deciding between that or the Aphra Behn is whether I needed the “break” of working on a manuscript that has already been worked on, versus wanting to do something new. Either one sounds exciting!
    Have a wonderful start to your week, Ruth!

    1. Thanks, Nancy! (I hope I can still call you Nancy? *g*) Yeah, I’m a huge fan of Arthurian tales, and it always seemed to me that Tristan and Isolde got a bit short-changed, always in the shadow of Arthur and Gwen! I will keep people posted, of course. 🙂

  3. Loving the new layout, Ruth, and I’m so glad to see all of your work in the sidebar! I’m excited to check them all out.

    Both of the projects you describe sound wonderful. For me, choosing my next project usually involves gauging which one can capture my attention with the greatest intensity. Good luck choosing between them!

  4. Your banner is beautiful, and by the way, go Aphra! It’s so original. I’ve got a bit of a background in Restoration Theatre, and I think you’re really on to something there. Talk about timely paralells!

    1. Thanks, Vicki! Yeah on Aphra: if someone made up something resembling what we know about her life, it wouldn’t be plausible! 🙂

Leave a Reply

