Little writing, lots of Photoshop frustration

My writing progress in the last couple of days has been minimal: 50 pages of revisions on a novella I’m writing with Jay Lake, “Second Contact.” I still haven’t gotten back to my convicts on Callisto story like I intended, but when I try to do things I’m not trained in, the time sink is enormous. And the last couple of days, I’ve been trying to teach myself Photoshop so that I can make decent covers for all the previously published material I have lying around taking up space on my hard drive.

Well, I have to say, for me Photoshop is not intuitive. I spent most of the day today trying to do a tutorial for making a cover, and I failed spectacularly. Not only were the colors all wrong when I desaturized, I couldn’t even figure out how to move the image on a new layer I’d created. So I fear for the time being, my award-winning sf novella “Looking Through Lace” will have to stick with the cover it already has.

I would hire professionals to create covers for me if I had the writing income to do so, but until now, my expenses for ebooks are about five times what I’ve earned, and it doesn’t make any sense to me to shell out any more cash until I can turn this thing around. Who knows, if I had amazing professional covers, my sales might take off, but I don’t think there’s that much income in story collections and novellas. We’ll see what happens when I get the first novel up.

I did make some progress on platform this week, however: I created a new page on my WordPress blog for pictures and bios, a sort of “press kit” for publicity purposes. I spent most of the day yesterday choosing and cropping the pics and putting together the page. Please take a look. I would be very grateful for any feedback you might have!

8 thoughts on “Little writing, lots of Photoshop frustration”

  1. Sounds like you are staying busy. I gave up on the photoshop. I ended up paying someone to do my cover. I wish I could create covers. I bet that would be just as much fun as writing the stories. If you stick with it and don’t give up like I did, you will probably get it figured out. Keep up the good work!

  2. I hear you on the Photoshop. Have you tried any of the independent Photoshop tutorial videos on youtube?

    And I checked out your “press kit” page- wow, you are quite an accomplished author! You have a great smile in all your photos. My favorite photo is the one that appears on this page. 🙂

    1. I haven’t tried video tutorials yet, they might just work better. Good tip, thanks! And thanks too for the comments on my bio and photos. 🙂

  3. I think 50 pages of revisions is great work in a week’s time. Revisions tend to be more work than the actual writing itself to most of us. I admire you for studying Photoshop. I’m not technologically inclined with any of that stuff. I hope you have a great week and I look forward to more updates. Keep smiling!

  4. Ugh, photoshop. I really wish it was more intuitive. I’ve been told that there are some useful tutorials on youtube, but I haven’t checked them out yet.

    Love the bio and all the pictures!

    1. Thanks, Jamila! I’m quite determined to eventually figure Photoshop out. And determination is at least half the battle, right? 🙂

Leave a Reply

