Northern Lights and New Goals

We got back from our cruise along the Norwegian fjords with the Hurtigruten late Saturday night. While it was a bit on the cold side up there in the Arctic Circle, it was stunningly beautiful trip, made even better by the fact that we saw the northern lights.

This wasn’t just luck, although of course that too played a role. But before I booked, I did a little research into when the northern lights are visible and was very happy to learn that winter is not a prerequisite. Night and clears skies (luck) are. Chances are better when there’s little moonlight. So I checked up on the phases on the moon for September / October. We didn’t want to go when it started to get too cold or the days too short — we wanted to see the fjords too, after all. Then I chose a date where we would be on the ship only during the darkest half of the month.

And we were rewarded.

I think writing goals are a little like that. You figure out what you want and what you can do and you plan accordingly. Luck plays a role too in meeting goals — you can’t plan for sicknesses or family crises or added, unexpected dayjob stress, just as you can’t plan for the sun acting up enough to produce stunning, dancing lights in the night sky. What you can do is take the information at your disposal and plan accordingly.

Unfortunately, I am not as reliable in my word counts as the phases of the moon, but what I do know is that I can produce 500 words a day pretty reliably, unless I get derailed by a major money-making dayjob project where time spent on job = that much more cash. Since I want to push myself a bit, and since I got a good chunk of writing done on the cruise (4500 words, mostly in the last four – five days), I want to aim a bit higher. At the same time, I have a number of writing goals that don’t involve word count, so I can’t aim too high — otherwise I won’t have time to tackle those other projects.

So here are my new goals for the rest of the year:

– Write 5000 words a week
– Get three short stories revised and out on the market
– Update my web page
– Put two new collections of previously published stories up on Smashwords and Amazon
– Get my novel Yseult up on Smashwords and Amazon before Christmas

It’s a lot, but if I can get better organized and cut out a lot of the “frittering” I do online, it’s not too terribly unrealistic, I hope. We’ll see. My goals might soon need some revision. 🙂

6 thoughts on “Northern Lights and New Goals”

  1. I, Queen of Fritterdom, declare your Round 4 a (semi) fritter-free zone, and I congratulate you in advance of your goal-nailing.

    So now you have no choice but to meet your goals. 😉

    Signed,
    Queen Frit of the Fritters

Leave a Reply

