Never Ever After, Monkeys, and an Interview

It’s been a busy week. I got another short story collection up for Kindle, Never Ever After, containing three previously published stories based on legends and fairy tales.

Never Ever After

Here’s the description:

“A Serca Tale” is a retelling of the old Irish legend “The Pursuit of Diarmuid and Gráinne.”

“King Orfeigh”: A young Irish king has lost his wife to the king of Faerie. Is there any way he can win her back?

“Happily Ever Awhile”: Everyone knows the story of the filthy girl who married the prince by not bleeding into a glass slipper. But what happened to Ellie after the happy ending?

Kipp Poe has put up an interview with me on his blog. Check it out!

For those who subscribe to Daily Science Fiction, my story “Thirteen Ways of Looking at a Monkey” will be dropped into your email on Thursday, Feb. 2. It will be posted to the web a week later.

Yseult continues to hang in there in the top 100 in historical fantasy. Last time I checked, it was back into the 80s at #86. I still haven’t managed to get back into the double digits on daily sales, but at least it’s still selling consistently and remaining on at least one bestseller list, which I suspect right there might be fueling more sales.

I’m making steady progress on this editing pass of Shadow of Stone, although I’m not as far as I’d hoped to be. But I’m far enough that in the next few days I’ll be contacting a couple of freelance editors to get samples, quotes, and estimates as to when they might be able to fit the novel into their schedule.

And with all of this I notice that slowly I am becoming a businesswoman in charge of my own career. Yes, I have less time to write than I did before, but at the same time I have more focus. But it’s all still in the experimental stage, and it remains to be seen how it will play out. Wish me luck. 🙂

9 thoughts on “Never Ever After, Monkeys, and an Interview”

  1. Great week, Ruth! You are quite prolific and I can see the focus in your writing. I’m sure you’ll achieve “businesswoman” status in no time, in some ways it appears you are already firmly there.

    Have an excellent week 🙂

    1. Thanks, Gene! Not so sure about the “firmly,” though. *g* “Prolific” isn’t completely accurate either, but I’ve been working at this for a very, very long time, and that give me a certain amount of material to work with. 🙂

  2. Ruth, you are succeeding in all ways it seems. I’d tend to agree with Gene, you’re already a business woman. I’m dreading it all, but pleased I have the option to take my writing to the public and rise or fall on my own merits. I just hope I rise as you are. Great week. X

  3. Nice! It sounds like you had a pretty fantastic week. I understand what you mean about having less time to write–yet with focus comes the much better use of that diminished time. It’s a pretty good trade-off, in my opinion.

    (Oh, and that new collection? I’ll be snagging it on Amazon. : > )

    Good luck to you Ruth! And good work this week. 😀

    1. I keep trying to comfort myself with the idea that I’m making better use of my time, but I’m not sure if it’s really true. 😐

      Hope you like the collection! 🙂

  4. “And with all of this I notice that slowly I am becoming a businesswoman in charge of my own career. Yes, I have less time to write than I did before, but at the same time I have more focus. ” Great quote Ruth and good for other authors to hear about! Anna

Leave a Reply

