“Never Ever After” #30 in – um – Mythology???

When I saw the rankings of my short story collection, I was a bit confused, but then I realized it must be because I categorized Never Ever After as “FICTION / Fairy Tales, Folk Tales, Legends & Mythology” (in addition to fantasy short stories). In the bestseller category, the mention of fairy tales gets lost, and I’m suddenly in the “World Literature/Mythology” category. Whatever. At least I’m on a Top 100 list again! Not sure if that category is going to help me much in the long run, but it’s still fun.

The last couple of days leading up to this most recent promotion, I’ve once again been spending most of my time on marketing and not enough on writing. It’s just so much to do to get the word out, and I don’t have the process down yet so that it has become a habit, internalized like a lot of the writing process has become for me by now. I have to keep looking at my lists (announce on Goodreads and LibraryThing, write the places that promote free ebooks, Twitter, Facebook, Google+ …)

Anyway, I only edited one more chapter of Shadow of Stone, and I still haven’t contacted the freelance editors to decide who to hire for the final pass. But I also did two interviews for Yseult, one of them for the German translation, including quite complex questions. So I have to take that into consideration when I consider how little writing I got done since Wednesday. AND I had my granddaughter for several hours on Thursday, during which time I was forced to feed her ice cream …

So I have my excuses and I intend to forgive myself. 🙂

Reminder: Never Ever After is FREE until February 7. Go nab your copy now! Pass the word along to your friends! Perhaps I can still become #1 in Mythology! *g*

10 thoughts on ““Never Ever After” #30 in – um – Mythology???”

  1. I’ll go grab that and tweet it! I have yet to poat a link & have it work. I am more competent at retweeting. 🙂

    So you were forced to give her ice cream? Ha! My parents love giving my kids sweets.

    1. Thanks, Heather! And of course I love giving the granddaughter sweets. It’s just very funny the way she manipulates me to the freezer …

    1. Hi Ruthie – I tried and tried to post to your blog, but I had no luck – blogger doesn’t seem to like me, and nothing took. :/ This is what I wrote:

      Take care of yourself, Ruthie! I always get so pissed off at the myth that writing comes from misery when most of the time the opposite is the truth! Misery might serve as inspiration after the fact, but I think we do our best work when we are healthy and happy. Who has time and brain cells otherwise???

      Concentrate on getting your health back and make writing finger exercises to keep the writing muscle in tune.

  2. Sounds awesome! I imagine marketing can really take up all of ones time. Pretty soon, I bet you’ll be able to balance the two, or at least be at peace with the idea that some weeks might be about marketing, some might be about writing!

    Good luck, I can’t wait to read Never Ever After!

  3. Hi Ruth,

    Just wanted to let you know that I just read your “Thirteen Ways of Looking at a Monkey” at Daily Science Fiction and that I really enjoyed it! Wonderful construction, excellent characterization, and extremely entertaining. A very compelling and captivating story, with such economy of words.

    I’m definitely going to check out more of your work!

    And best wishes and much luck in your efforts to balance your writing, marketing, and everything else (but never forget that one should ALWAYS make time for granddaughters and ice cream…).

    1. Thank you, Chris! Don’t worry, the granddaughter (including her love of ice cream) is very high on my list of priorities. I don’t let writing cloud my vision that much. 🙂

Leave a Reply

