Leap Year Promotion: Yseult free for 24 hours, Feb. 29!

It’s starting to look like I’m addicted to these free promotions, doesn’t it? The truth of the matter is, they’ve been very good for my sales. With the exception of my story collection If Tears Were Wishes, everything I’ve offered for free with KDP Select has come out of the free promotion with a dramatic increase in sales. Five days after the free promotion for Dragon Time it is still in a couple of top 100 lists:

#35 in Books > Science Fiction & Fantasy > Fantasy > Anthologies
#91 in Kindle Store > Kindle eBooks > Fiction > Fantasy > Historical

So anyway, if you didn’t get a copy of Yseult during the introductory promotion, here’s your chance to get it now. And please pass the word along! The more people who download and the better rankings it gets, the better it will be for sales when it goes back to paid.

Now, if I can only learn how to create sustained sales without going through this promotion gig every week or two. It’s a lot of work.

That isn’t all I’ve been doing, though. Over on the Codex Writing Workshop, they had a “subber” challenge, and I finally got some stories out into the cold cruel world again. Seven short story submissions in two days. And my “ready to send” list is still way to long. I have to do that more often, challenge or no challenge.

I also have only two more chapters left to go on this final editing pass of Shadow of Stone. I doubt if I’ll be finishing it tonight, though. I’m tired.

BTW, my story collections got some very nice reviews by Kriti Godey. She won a LibraryThing giveaway of Yseult and liked it so much she got all the stories I’ve put up for Kindle until now. Thanks again, Kriti! I guess this is what they call creating an audience base. It’s not an overnight thing; I have to give my target audience the chance to find me. But at least in the indie world I’m not going to get relegated to the remainder bin.

7 thoughts on “Leap Year Promotion: Yseult free for 24 hours, Feb. 29!”

  1. Thanks, Shah! Don’t really feel like I have a handle on it, but I did do a lot of research before starting the whole Kindle Select adventure, and it seems to be paying off. 🙂

  2. I so admire your productivity, Ruth. As I’ve said before, it is so generous of you to share what you learn with all of us. I have no doubt your books will continue to sell well. Haven’t started your stories yet but I’ll get there. Speed is not one of my attributes.

    Karen

    1. No worries, Karen! That’s one of the nice things about going indie, there’s no pressure to perform immediately, right away, now, (“if I don’t become a bestseller in six months I’m dead in the water”), like it is in the traditional publishing industry. I can grow my audience slowly, at my own pace. So go ahead and take your time! 🙂

  3. So glad I popped over today (I grabbed Yseult). I’m feeling guilty that I took advantage of all your promotions, but I promise to read all of them soon and get reviews up. There’s so much discussion out there about these 99 cent promotions and if they help, but they certainly seem to be working for you.

    1. Hey, Tia, that’s what the freebies are for! Since it’s just me without a corporation behind me, giving things away seems to be a pretty good way of building an audience! Besides, the more people who grab, the better it is for me coming out of the free promotion. 🙂

Leave a Reply

