Interview, plunging ahead with Aphra, and using up my free days on Never Ever After

Great Minds Think Aloud posted an interview with me today:

http://www.greatmindsthinkaloud.proboards.com/index.cgi?action=display&board=interviews&thread=1329

They are also hosting a contest to win a copy of Yseult, which you can access here:

http://www.greatmindsthinkaloud.proboards.com/index.cgi

The new version of Chameleon in a Mirror from scratch is going very well. It’s great fun to get back to Aphra Behn, who has been my idol since I first read about her decades ago. I’ve upped my target word count to 1500 words a day; here’s hoping I can maintain it.

In sales news, Looking Through Lace is still doing pretty well since its freebie:

Amazon Best Sellers Rank: #16,864 Paid in Kindle Store (See Top 100 Paid in Kindle Store)
#15 in Books > Science Fiction & Fantasy > Science Fiction > Short Stories
#24 in Books > Science Fiction & Fantasy > Science Fiction > Anthologies

Earlier in the day today, it was in the top ten in the categories for short fiction, but it’s slipping now. At least I got another 5 star review out of the freebie. 🙂

Starting tomorrow, April 18, I have another free promotion scheduled: my revisionist fairy tale collection Never Ever After will be free for Kindle for 48 hours. Once again, I am using up my free days before I take the ebook out of KDP Select, so get it while you can! And please, pass the word along. The monetary reimbursement for freebies has let up drastically since I first released Yseult in January, but it’s still one of the most effective ways for indie authors to get potential readers to notice their fiction.

9 thoughts on “Interview, plunging ahead with Aphra, and using up my free days on Never Ever After”

    1. Thanks, Ruthie! BTW, I’m still not having any luck posting to your blog. Here’s what I was going to write in response to your most recent post: “I find Scrivener amazingly helpful during the second draft, especially regarding character arcs, timeline and consistency. Congratulations on all your progress so far and good luck!”

      All that happens is that I get redirected, and my post is still there in the box, waiting to get posted. I tried both Open ID and WordPress, and neither worked.

  1. … and now for something completely different … I just finished reading ‘Looking Through Lace’.
    I’m a, ” … and then what happened?” kinda gal so I do want a whole novel to read about this world and these characters, now! … very compelling. I enjoyed it immensely.

    While I was reading, a thought kept ticking over in the back of the filing system in my head. ‘There’s something tweaking my memory here’. Finally I accessed the right drawer. MZB’s ‘The Ruins of Isis’.

    1. Glad you liked it, Widdershins! I’m actually considering making a novel from that novella. A number of the reviews on Amazon have also expressed interest in more, so there might even be a market for it. 🙂

      I haven’t read that MZB yet. I’ll have to check it out.

Leave a Reply

