Shadow of Stone – editing process almost complete

Today, I finished the final editing pass on Shadow of Stone and gave it to my hubbie for a last spot check. I asked him to read the prologue and first chapter, as well as a couple of random chapters throughout the book, just to make sure we’ve done everything we can to make the book as error-free as possible. That includes the following:

– Putting various chapters and the synopsis through a couple of different workshops
– About 10 beta readers after the first draft was complete
– Letting the thing sit for half-a-year before tackling it again
– Another complete revision pass
– Hiring a copy editor
– One final editing pass after getting the manuscript back from the editor, both to address the things she found and to do my darnedest to make sure as few mistakes as possible slipped through.

I’m sure someone will still find something, but at least I can in good conscience say I did my best.

After handing off the manuscript, I enlisted my daughter to help me update the map from Yseult. The world is, of course, the same, but I needed to add some of the more important locations that only play a role in Shadow of Stone and thus were not included on the map for Yseult. That is nearly done now. Then once I get the manuscript back, I will start on the formatting. If I don’t meet with any major glitches, I will hopefully have the book done on the target release date of June 5. Yeah! Originally, I’d been intending to be finished with Chameleon in a Mirror by the end of this month, but I spent a lot more time on the final editing pass than I’d intended. It will be good to get back to actual writing again!

A reminder: my short story collection The Future, Imperfect is FREE through June 5, a little promotional freebie before I release Shadow of Stone. Tomorrow, Looking Through Lace and Dragon Time also go free. I got some wonderful promotion for my freebie splurge from SF Signal, and now The Future, Imperfect is up to #40 in Science Fiction on the Kindle free bestseller list. Thanks again, John!

I hope all who read this have a happy and productive week. 🙂

10 thoughts on “Shadow of Stone – editing process almost complete”

  1. Nicely done, Ruth. I think the six month waiting period would be the hardest part of the coming process. I’ve never been that patient on that front. All the best for the coming release of Shadow of Stone – exciting times 🙂

    1. Thanks, Gene! I think the trick is to have so many pots in the fire at the same time, it’s not hard to put one aside for a time. 🙂

  2. Great job!
    Like Gene, I don’t think I would be able to wait 6 months to tackle my work again lol
    I wish you SUCCESS with the release of your new book!

  3. I’ve come to realise that no matter what, there will always be at least one typo. I’ve come to accept this and move on … almost.

    I just wish I knew where it hid every time someone did a read-through!

  4. I love the detailed plan of attack you have there, Ruth. And really, you know that you’re going above and beyond in all the right ways. It’ll be wonderful. And now that I’m enjoying Yseult you’ve also got another reading waiting in the wings. 😉

    As for the wait… It’s the best(!!!) thing I’ve ever found for gaining some real perspective on one’s own work. I have a folder even on my computer called the “Top Drawer” where I put manuscripts for a time (and now I’ve even found a decent calendar program that alerts me when something has been stewing in the Top Drawer too long). Sounds like you’re doing something similar.

    Have a great week and hope you get to the “real writing” soon 😀

    1. Thanks so much, Eden! And sounds like you are much more organized about the “putting away” than I am. 🙂 I claimed I put the novel aside for half-a-year, but I don’t know how long it really was — just several months until I had time and inclination to tackle it again. Once I’ve finished something as long as Yseult or Shadow of Stone, it isn’t that hard to put it away, since I’m a bit fed up with it at times. *g*

      I’m glad you’re enjoying Yseult!

      1. *laughs* I don’t know if I’m more organized. I just have a wonderful software engineer hubby who got sick of me saying “I need this done by…will you remind me?”

        And yes, being fed up with the story is good (and common, it seems) reason.

        Have a great evening.

Leave a Reply

