The business of being your own publisher

I got very little writing work done this week, other than some rewriting of the next Looking Through Lace novella, Beyond the Waters of the World. I originally wrote the novella back when Looking Through Lace was published by Asimov’s, but it took me too long to finish, and by that time, Asimov’s was no longer interested in a further episode. Yet another of the many mistakes I’ve made during my writing career!

But now, after a number of reviewers have said they would like to read more about Toni and Kislan and interstellar cultural conflict, I pulled the old novella out from the depths of my hard drive and am in the process of blowing off the virtual dust and whipping the old puppy into shape. In preparation, I read through Looking Through Lace again and added an excerpt from the upcoming novella to the ebook.

While I was in ebook creation mode, I also rearranged the short stories in The Future, Imperfect, and fixed a couple of typos one of my readers found in Dragon Time. Then yesterday I uploaded new versions of three of my ebooks.

I’m about a fourth of the way through revisions and writing new new material for Beyond the Waters of the World now. (By the way, if anyone is interested in being a beta reader, let me know in the comments.) I also did an interview for Marshall Payne, which he will be putting up on his blog on Tuesday. But all of these things take time, and they take away from writing time.

On the positive side, I got some great placement on the Kindle Science Fiction and Fantasy page this week:

Featured in Fantasy

I never would have noticed it myself, since the default display is completely different if your location is given as Europe. Laurel Amberdine of Codex pointed it out to me, and with a couple of changed settings, I was finally able to see it on my own screen. Woot!

Wishing all a great week. 🙂

10 thoughts on “The business of being your own publisher”

Leave a Reply

