Laid low by a virus

The best laid plans and all that … not that I can claim anything of the sort for my plans in the first place. And I knew weeks ago that I wasn’t going to finish Chameleon in a Mirror when I had originally intended. But this week, I ended up in bed with a fever, probably as a result of grandmother duties. I’m confronted with a lot more bugs these days than I was a couple of years ago.

So anyway, on to the accounting. CIAM is now at 90,000 words. I still intend to finish this draft by the end of the month. Aside from fevers and the like, things are going pretty well, so I’m hoping that by the beginning of next month, I will have to start creating completely new writing goals!

I hope everyone else is coming along swimmingly with their goals, and not being distracted by fuzzy-head-syndrome. (Another day, and I’m sure I’ll be myself again!)

11 thoughts on “Laid low by a virus”

  1. Ooooooo Grandmother bugs! *shivers*

    Sometimes the little darlings just have to look at you and you catch whatever germs they’re spreading this week! … hope you feel better soon.

  2. I suspect that’s where my last cold came from – a sniffly but affectionate grandson.
    It looks like you’re writing is doing just fine in spite of that, at least as far as first drafting. I’ve a couple in that stage, and now am struggling with the editing – what a pain that is!
    That’s why I like doing Flash Fiction – quick turnaround, easy to edit.
    www,ravensview.ca

  3. I do love being a grandmother, but my little grandbaby is too little to give me a cold … yet! She’s only 15 weeks old. So I hope you are soon well and writing all those words to meet the goals AND be ready for Round 3. I did want to tell you that I now have Yseult and am looking forward to reading it very much. Write on — with good health!

    1. Oh, Beth, just wait, being a grandma is so much fun! Ok, one’s energy level is much lower than during the mothering years, and my girls can completely wear me out — but it’s temporary! They go home again! *g*

      Hope you enjoy Yseult! Many reviews have pointed out to me that it’s not an easy read, but there are a number that have also said it’s worth it. 🙂

      1. Thank you, Ruth, for your note. I just finished reading Under the Bamyan Tree about a refugee family from Cambodia. It was beautifully written and a difficult read at the same time. I love historical fiction and am looking forward to Yseult, especially after reading the preview. And just now my little grandchild (now 4 months) is sleeping peacefully. All is well. Best to you, Beth

Leave a Reply

