Over 2,000 sales (and other self-pub news)

Sometime the end of last month, I passed the 2,000 sales mark for my ebooks. Even though I knew I was getting close, I don’t know exactly when I hit the second thousand, since I wasn’t adding up totals daily. It might be slow progress, but it’s still progress. It took me about five months to make the first thousand, and less than four months for the second thousand. While I am uploading new ebooks on a fairly regular basis, which of course helps with the increased sales, those four months also covered summer, notoriously bad for ebook sales (at least according to all the savvy folks on the Kindle Boards, who have way more experience than me). Even though I make a fair amount of money with the borrows, I don’t include that in the sales figures. (If anyone is curious, I’ll be happy to share some more specific numbers at some point.)

The other day, I also finally got the first short story in my Alaska series up (my Northern Exposure fanfic *g*):

This is the first time I’m publishing a short story individually rather than in a collection, so I will be quite curious to see how it goes — and how many negative reviews I get because it’s short. *g* If this works, my idea is to get at least one short in this world up a month, and once I have several published, start bundling them. For the collections I can then ask 2.99, so I can get the 70% royalties rather than only 35%. Once I have a couple of Alaska stories up, I also intend to make at least one of them permanently free, to hopefully generate some interest in the series.

When I wrote the book description, my creativity was waning, and I would be happy to hear any thoughts anyone might have:

Jordyn has brought the birds of sorrow with her to Rolynka, Alaska, where she hopes to start over after a tragic accident.

But in Rolynka, nothing is quite the way it seems, and the help of neighbors takes very strange forms.

“In the Middle of Nowhere with Company” is a short story of about 5000 words, or 20 pages. It is the first in the series “Tales From Far Beyond North.”

On the weekend, my daughter and I also worked on a new cover for the next story in the series, “Misty and the Magic Pumpkin Knife”:

Misty and the Magic Pumpkin Knife

Thoughts? Reactions? Suggestions?

Wishing everyone a lovely October!

One thought on “Over 2,000 sales (and other self-pub news)”

Leave a Reply

