Sorting out my goals

Like usual, I have lists and lists of things to do scattered all over my desk; now is my quarterly opportunity to compile all those lists and figure out what I really have to do.

1) Since I am still not done with Chameleon in a Mirror, getting that in shape to send to my critique partner is a top priority. Part of the problem is that it’s longer than expected. I now have over 100,000 words of Time Travel, with three chapters left to go. I’m hoping I can finish that before flying to the States to visit my family this month.

2) Get the next Alaska story, “Misty and the Magic Pumpkin Knife” (see my last post), up in time for Halloween, preferably within the next week. Since I want to participate in a Halloween group promo, this will be my first priority, seeing as it has a specific deadline.

3) Write a short story for a Kindle Boards anthology, for which I volunteered.

Those are the absolute HAVE TO DO items. Following are the goals from which I will need to choose once I’ve sent CIAM to my critique partner:

4) Write another novella in the world of Looking Through Lace.

5) Write more short stories in the world of Rolynka, Alaska.

6) Get the rest of the Alaska stories that are already written ready for publication.

7) Get my fantasy collection Story Hunger ready for publication.

8) Publish Never Ever After to B&N and Kobo.

9) Publish “Mars: A Traveler’s Guide” to Amazon and see that it goes free.

10) Write a prequel to Yseult and Shadow of Stone.

11) Brainstorm another novel in The Pendragon Chronicles.

12) Write at least one blog post a week and try to keep up with people who comment.

13) Get Yseult ready for Createspace (paperback)

14) Get Shadow of Stone ready for Createspace (paperback)

It doesn’t look like I’m going to be bored anytime soon. 🙂

I haven’t decided yet whether to participate in Nanowrimo this year, but when I look at my list, I realize I do have two projects that might work for it: I could do a couple of novellas in the world of Looking Through Lace, or I could write a prequel for The Pendragon Chronicles. Must ponder. Obviously I don’t have all my goals sorted out just yet. Hope others are farther along than me! *g*

13 thoughts on “Sorting out my goals”

  1. Ruthie! I haven’t checked in with you in ages. Good to see you have plenty to keep you busy lol! I like that you split it up by priorities and then the backlog of possibilities. I’m very happy to see that you have plans to entertain us for quite awhile! I do hope you join us for the crazy in November. I think I’ve decided that I’m going to work on the time travel story for Nano, so that should be new and exciting. Have a great week!

    1. Thanks for stopping by again, Lauren! And I really am going to try and figure out if there’s a project I can get ready in time for Nanowrimo. I’ll still be traveling the first couple of days, but that’s less important than deciding what the hell to write in the first place! *g*

  2. Excellent productive goals! On the “future list”, I’d say to go with the ones that are closest to being ready ship, as that will clear things faster and get more work out there. You are always an inspiration to me when it comes to productivity (not to mention the great writing). Wishing you all the best for the coming round and looking forward to seeing your updates 🙂

    1. Thanks, Gene! Yeah, I think the future goals will end up being a combination of what’s easiest, and what I think will provide the best long-term advantage for my writing career. Right now, that’s looking like a prequel to The Pendragon Chronicles, since those books are my biggest money-makers.
      Thanks for the kind words, and for stopping by! 🙂

  3. Ruth –

    I love reading the goals of others who seem to enjoy smorgasbords od delightful endeavor!

    I came here on a sponsor visit, but I feel as though you are inspiring ME, instead!

    Such wonderful energy in these goals, and such joy.

    See you out and about the round! =D

  4. Oh let me be you for the day! 🙂 You must have a brain which can so successfully departmentalise to write so many things at once. I just couldn’t concentrate on everything involved. Although, I am still very much a fledgling writer, unlike yourself, so I’m hoping it will be something which arrives with experience and a firmer grasp of the craft. You inspire me… but yes – go for what easiest, work your way to the others. It seems wise. Or work on the one which stimulates you most right now. Think I’d go with feeling rather than lists (which is perhaps why I do so much less that you) 😦

    Best of luck for this round (and NaNo if you do it – I’m hoping to). X

    1. Oh, I’m pretty impressed by your lists all the time too, Shah! No need to belittle all your own achievements. 🙂 But yeah, I think the many many years of experience in writing does help!

      I’m going to sit down and try to figure out the NaNo question today and will report. 🙂

Leave a Reply

