New Facebook author page, time-tracking, and another freebie (Shadow of Stone)

I’ve been putting this off for a while, but now I’ve finally gone ahead and set up a Facebook page specifically for the author me. If anyone is inclined to like it, that would help me a lot for promo opportunities through Facebook. Thanks!

Also, please note that Shadow of Stone is free today and tomorrow. So if you missed it during the last free run, please be my guest and grab yourself a copy!

In writing news: I was inspired by a blog post from the lovely and talented Gene Lempp a couple of days ago to start tracking my writing hours. While I’m a total Excel wuss and quickly gave up on creating a spreadsheet, I did start a list in the free form database I use, where I also keep track of book sales. It’s early days yet to tell if it will really help me keep on track, but right now it does seem to be making me more conscientious about how I spend my time. Just knowing I have to fill something in is a big incentive not to fritter, as I like to call it. (Who wants to write the entry: “7:30-8:30 – Frittering around on the Internet”?)

While my word count count on Chameleon in a Mirror hasn’t increased using this method, it’s stayed the same while writing completely new scenes. To me, that feels like an increase in productivity. A couple more days, and I should have this new draft of the novel done. Then once through, and off to my critique partner. 🙂

Hope everyone is having a productive week!

13 thoughts on “New Facebook author page, time-tracking, and another freebie (Shadow of Stone)”

  1. Okay, I’ve liked the page and downloaded the book! So excited to read it!

    Oooh, I can only imagine what my wee spreadsheet would say if I tracked my time. “Frittering around on the internet” sounds about right. 😛 But I may give this a try, just to keep myself in check.

    Have a good rest of the week, Ruth!

  2. Working on having a functional Facebook site by the end of the week – and I’ll make sure you are one of the first I “like”. Hope the time tracking works out for you. I know it has shown me all the spots where I tend to “fritter.” Once I make sure the system I’m using works I’ll start posting parts of it on my blog, including a blank version of the Excel sheet I made for it. Have a great rest of your week, Ruth 🙂

    1. Well, I’m done with this version of Chameleon now, Gene, so I think it is working! I look forward to your posts of your system. 🙂 My freeform time tracking works well enough, but I’m always willing to try something new!

Leave a Reply

