New draft of Chameleon in a Mirror finished! (And various other writing news)

Chameleon in a Mirror, my literary time travel fantasy to the era of Aphra Behn, is now done in the new version, coming in at 110,000 words. This is not DONE done, just a completed draft. I still need to do a revision pass, taking notes on motives, plot threads, and characters in Scrivener as I go. I’m hoping that will help me make the plot more cohesive before I send it to my critique partner.

I continue to track hours and activities, but I don’t know yet if it’s making me more productive, although it’s certainly looking good. In addition to getting this draft of CIAM finished this week, I’ve started brainstorming both the short story for the Kindle Boards anthology and the novel for NaNo (working title, Ygerna, a new novel in the series The Pendragon Chronicles).

My flash fiction piece “Thirteen Ways of Looking at a Monkey” got a nice mention on another blog. Check it out!

I wish everyone a happy and productive week!

10 thoughts on “New draft of Chameleon in a Mirror finished! (And various other writing news)”

  1. It looks like you had a productive week, congrats! Completing a new draft always feels good 🙂 I don’t use Scrivener but I keep hearing good things about it, I might need to give in… Thanks for stopping by my blog 🙂

    1. Well, the Scrivener folks have a very generous trial period (30 actual days of use, even interrupted), so it’s easy enough to give it a spin. If you write novels that are a bit more complicated in terms of plot or character constellation, I highly recommend it!

Leave a Reply

