Slowly but surely getting there on the paperback version of Yseult

This is what I spent most of the day on today:

I’m not very Photoshop savvy, and my daughter was out and about today, so I decided to tackle it myself. Of course, I had the front cover of Yseult already, designed by the lovely and talented Derek Murphy of Creativindie Covers. I’ve sat beside my daughter many a time while we designed covers together, have tweaked them myself in accordance with feedback. Besides, Britta is moving to the States soon, which will make it a lot harder to work on covers with her. It’s time I learned how to do a bit more on my own. I figured it couldn’t be all that hard, right?

Wrong.

I had to google all kinds of little steps that would have been super easy for someone else. But the thing I spent the most time on was the text on the back. The first time I tried to copy the description in, I had a long line of text with everything superimposed on top of each other. So I kept googling, trying to figure out a way to make Photoshop treat text like text. I finally found an apparent solution — but for the life of me, I couldn’t get it to work with my ancient version of Photoshop. Some little arrow that I was supposed to pull down that I couldn’t get to appear …

By this time, I’ve deleted more layers than I’ve kept, and hours have passed. I finally gave up, created a text box in Paint, saved it as a JPG, and copied it onto my cover as a layer.

If anyone with more design experience than me has any suggestions, please let me know how I could improve the cover!

Thursday was my birthday, so that day was taken up with preparation and celebration:

Birthday

The next day was taken up with recovery. As a result, I haven’t gotten very far on recreating the revisions I lost on Island of Glass. At least I’m moving forward with a couple of big things. I really do want to get Yseult off to Createspace, and off my to-do list. A number of readers have asked me about when a physical book will be available, but I’ve been so wary of all the work involved, I just kept putting it off. Soon now!

And before I forget, I would like to point out that Elle Casey is hosting a massive Springtime Indie Giveaway. Most of you reading this will probably already have my book Dragon Time, but perhaps there are some other books on the list you might be interested in. 🙂 And if you think it looks good, pass the word along if you’re so inclined!

ETA: My daughter showed me how to make the text box this morning — rather than clicking on the surface of your image, you hold down the left mouse key and pull. Now off to make my cover correctly and then upload!

14 thoughts on “Slowly but surely getting there on the paperback version of Yseult”

  1. Herzlichen Glückwunsch zum Geburtstag, Ruth!
    You’re not getting older… just wiser. (Great cover design, too!)

  2. Happy birthday, ‘double nickle’!!! And congratulations on your beautiful cover — and your tenacity. Describing exactly how long it took to actually make this cover is so helpful to others on the same path. Next time will be more efficient, yes? Would you consider putting some blurbs, perhaps from Amazon reviews, on the back? I read somewhere that potential readers really rely on these blurbs. If the reader is buying an online copy, the blurbs are right there. But those glowing and inviting words of praise are not as accessible on a paperback — unless you put them there, right? I’m working on a marketing plan and would love to hear your comments about how you will distribute that paperback. Meanwhile, enjoy every moment of Mother’s Day — and write on.

    1. That’s a great idea, Beth! Since I haven’t sent the PDF off yet, I may still add some nice reviews. 🙂

      I have NO idea how to distribute the paperback, I have to admit. I may have some words on why I decided to go to all the trouble in a future post.

  3. Happy Birthday! Mine’s this week. 🙂

    Good work on the paperback cover. I’ve been using Photoshop since 1990, and I’m *still* learning. It’s not a simple program, but it’s without a doubt the best for this type of work.

    1. Heh, just commented over on your blog and noticed we have birthdays close together!

      Thanks for the heads up. If a pro likes the cover, I think I’m good to go. 🙂

  4. I think the cover looks just lovely – great job. I’ve just finished my eBook cover (which I revealed on today’s ROW80 post) but I can imagine how much trickier it is for a paperback. Happy Birthday for Thursday, mine was on Tuesday – May’s a great month for a birthday. 🙂

Leave a Reply

