Getting back to the writing: Revisions on Island of Glass

Not a lot of progress on Island of Glass to report for the week, since revisions are hard to quantify. What I can say is that I’m in the middle of chapter four now (of ten), and during this rewrite, I’ve added an additional character as a foil for Chiara. That has resulted in about another 2500 words to Island of Glass, which is now coming in at just under 20,000 words.

It might not be a lot of words for the week, but I don’t think it’s smart to count words while revising. I’m just mentioning them for the record. Sometimes, the best revision is measured in words cut. If memory serves, when I was working on the final draft of Shadow of Stone, I cut at least 10,000 words — but that, admittedly, from an initial manuscript of about 190,000 words. And the cuts happened over a revision lasting weeks. Which means my “progress” during the revision stage was about -2000 words a week. I dare someone to top that! *g*

Before I close, just another reminder to check out the Epic Fantasy Ebook Sale Party!

I wish everyone a wonderful week. 🙂

2 thoughts on “Getting back to the writing: Revisions on Island of Glass”

  1. Negative word counts… I can see that. Though a -2K is a lot of cutting. Are you going to release a Director’s Cut version? 😉

    Joking aside, sometimes it really is best to not count words, in either direction. With most editing and revisions there seems to be a fair amount of add and subtract, add and subtract. The point is doing the work, not keeping score.

    I saw your post about the hardcopy of Yseult too! That is (to quote Chuck Wendig) AWESOME SAUCE! Congrats, Ruth.

Leave a Reply

