Brief update, my first #wippet Wednesday, and a blog hop reminder

Funny how an upcoming vacation can be so much work. As I predicted recently, in the last few days, I’ve had very little time for writing. Instead, I’ve been writing emails to vacation rentals, printing out Google Maps directions, putting together a folder with all the info we need in hard copy, making last minute arrangements here at home, that kind of thing. I made a big dent in my to-do list today, but I’m still not done. And until now at least, there was simply no time for writing today.

So my progress on A Wasted Land so far this week is a modest 1200 words. I will get back to experimenting on myself once vacation and family time is over.

I ran into many intriguing excerpts last week, so I thought I would give Wippet Wednesday a shot myself. Here are 17 lines from page 7 of A Wasted Land:

Horses, a Pendragon, a bard: they needed all of that and more, preferably yesterday. Repressing a sigh, Kustennin wheeled his mount around — and caught sight of a rose bush in full bloom against one wall that had escaped the conflagration. The bright red of the roses were an incongruous splotch of color in the midst of the blackened ruins. But once he’d noticed the rose, he saw other signs of life among the ruins. A shoot of ivy snaking up one wall. Patches of weeds and grass pushing up through the dark earth here and there in the courtyard. Yellow dandelions a stark contrast against gray and black.
Life always found a way. But would it be the life Kustennin and his family and allies wanted to live?
As he began to ride out of the ruins and back to his men, he felt something like a tickle of awareness at the back of his mind. He pulled up his gelding and turned in his saddle.
A lone figure appeared in the ruined gateway leading to the blackened orchards to the north, casting a long shadow across the courtyard of what remained of the outbuildings. A man, a bag over his shoulder and a lute slung over his back.
Taliesin.

And just as I added that quote, our Internet went out, which means I will be posting Thursday rather than Wednesday. ๐Ÿ˜ฆ This has happened a couple of times recently. If it keeps up, we’re going to have to look for a new provider, sigh.

The fantasy blog hop I’m doing this week now has a few more blogs to visit now, if you are so inclined:

Chrystalla, the lightbulb behind the blog hop, expounds on elves who are hotter than most.

How to Tame a Dark Elf.

Ryan Sullivan expounds on the magik system in Valkia.

Annette Gisby talks about Fantasy and Faerie.

Tiffany Turner expounds on elves being more than they seem.

Anna KYss has posted her Top 5 Faerie Lovers list.

Keese has posted nearly everything you need to know about the Ecology of the Tresolmi Elf (excellent guide, should you be entering that dimension soon).

And yours truly talks about the inspiration for the Feahd Ree magic system in Yseult.

This will probably be my last writing-related post for a while. When next I show up in the blogosphere, I’m more likely to be sharing pictures of fjords and waterfalls. ๐Ÿ™‚

17 thoughts on “Brief update, my first #wippet Wednesday, and a blog hop reminder”

  1. Taliesin . . . can’t wait to see how you create him. One of my favorites for some reason from any of the Arthurian legends. Excellent imagery in this piece — really puts me right in the middle of the ruins, with the little pops of color where nature reclaims it.

  2. Heh. I thought I knew most of the Arthurian characters by name, but I don’t recognize Taliesin, although I see Kathils clearly does. I REALLY like the plants. There’s something intensely beautiful about life enduring in the face of death. ๐Ÿ™‚

    1. You’re excused! Taliesin isn’t actually an Arthurian character per se, but a couple of his early Welsh poems (or poems attributed to him) mention Arthur, which (if the references weren’t added later) would be the closest “historical” references to Arthur in existence. As a result, a number of modern writers have integrated Taliesin into the stories. ๐Ÿ™‚

  3. Yay! I’m so glad you decided to join us! ๐Ÿ˜€ I will echo all the senitments about your wonderful descriptions – I saw the flowers and plants in my head the same way Kustennin, first noticing one and then another one in the corner of my eye, then another…

  4. Ruth,

    I lived and worked in Yellowstone in 1998, ten years after the major fires there. What you describe reminds me of the new meadows of wildflowers and the baby lodgepole pines growing up with the shadows of their charred parents as sentinels…a perfect capture, and a clear voice, and enough intrigue to have me wanting more.

    So happy you’ve joined us (and that I can do a WIPpet and a ROW80 post at once, since I’m still recovering from a camping weekend wirh my kids).

    Enjoy the fjords (one of my favorite words ever!), and the waterfalls….looking so forward to the pictures. =D

    Travel safely!

  5. great descriptions!! I agree with the fires and the new life starting. Yellowstone still has areas like that (it’s my neck of the woods up there).

    YAY FOR JOINING US!!! Hope to see you again!

  6. “he felt something like a tickle of awareness at the back of his mind.” And also “life always found a way. But would it be the life they wanted to live?” Roughly quoted of course, but those two sentences were ones that caught my eye in addition to, well, the whole excerpt, really. Vivid imagery that put me right into the setting and caught my attention. Welcome to WIPpet Wednesday! Happy, safe vacationing as well ๐Ÿ™‚

Leave a Reply

