Deliberate practice and the next round of goals

For this Round of Words, Kait has challenged us to keep “deliberate practice” in mind when putting together our goals. I’m going to take her up on it, and in this round I want to concentrate on FOCUS and becoming more effective with the time I have. I’ve downloaded a program for the Pomodoro technique, a time management tool, and I’m going to try out the program Freedom with it, which shuts off the Internet for a specific amount of time. Before my writing sessions, I will also work on planning the writing I want to get done each day, having a better idea of where a specific scene will go before I start writing it, which will hopefully make it less likely that I’ll get stuck.

So that’s the deliberate practice goal. On to the specific writing (and other) goals:

Writing:

– Write an average of at least two hours a day, five days a week (10 hours a week)

– Finish the first draft of A Wasted Land

– Brainstorm the next two novellas in The Glassmakers trilogy, Facets of Glass and Shards of Glass

– Start (finish?) Facets of Glass

Business:

– Be at least 240 pages into the Big Translation Project by the end of the round

Writing business:

– Publish Chameleon in a Mirror

– Publish Island of Glass

– Prepare CreateSpace version of Shadow of Stone

– Publish Shadow of Stone to B&N, Smashwords and D2D

– Publish “Mars, A Traveler’s Guide” to Amazon and make it free

Wishing everyone a wonderful and successful round!

6 thoughts on “Deliberate practice and the next round of goals”

  1. Planning what I’m going to write before I actually write it helps me *immensely.* In fact, that’s what I’m working on right now. More than outlining, but a little less than sketching in scenes. I’ll be interested in hearing how the Pomodoro Technique works for you – I’ve heard of it, but can’t remember specifics, going to have to look it up. Good luck on your ambitious (but doable) goals!

  2. Pomodoro? I’m intrigued. Anything that helps with time management and organisation can only be a help for me. That part of my brain doesn’t work, at all! Loved your goals. You really are sounding like a publisher, as appose to a writer who publishes. Best of luck (though with you, I know it’s down more to hard graft) with those goals. I look forward to seeing your progress. X

  3. Looking forward to seeing your goals turn into books! Wishing you a great year-ending round. And I so get you on becoming more effective with my time.

Leave a Reply

