First results with Pomodoro, and an excerpt from Island of Glass for #WIPpet Wednesday

Today I’ve been applying the Pomodoro technique for the first time to try and become more disciplined about the tasks on my to-do list, and I’m quite pleased with the results so far. Once I’ve been working with it longer, I will write a post on it in more detail, assuming it continues to work for me. 🙂

Most of what I’ve been doing today, however, has been the Big Translation Project. I don’t have much in the way of new material for A Wasted Land, although I’ve spent a lot of time on it in the last few days. But that was whipping the prologue and first chapter into shape for the next Villa Diodati workshop, coming up on October 18. (While writing this post, I just noticed that we are now mentioned in Wikipedia — how cool is that? *g*) This will be the first workshop in over a year. I am the ostensible workshop dictator, but recently I’ve been putting all my energy into my “indie career” (whatever that is), and I’ve gotten very lax about my dictator duties, meaning nothing happened for a long time. But earlier this year I appointed a Vice Dictator, and now we finally have another workshop scheduled. It will be fun to babble, er exchange critiques with a bunch of crazy writers again!

Anyway, since I don’t have any new scenes to offer for WIPpet Wednesday, I decided to offer the first 9 sentences (for Oct. 9) of Island of Glass — also a WIP, after all, if a lot farther along than A Wasted Land:

Chiara wiped her hands on her apron and lifted the goblet up to the light, inspecting her work critically. The fluted glass flared out like a lily beginning to bloom, and as hard as she tried, she could find no discoloring or bubbles. She breathed a sigh of relief; a nearly perfect piece. It would command a high price among the nobles of Venice and beyond.
The work of the Murano glassmakers was in great demand throughout the world. Their craftsmanship was the basis of their riches — and their curse. Out of fear they might reveal trade secrets, the laws of La Serenissima decreed that members of the glassmaking families of Murano were never to leave the islands of their lagoon. Murano glass was more precious than gold, after all. Anyone who knew the recipe of the alchemists could make gold, but only the artisans of Murano could make glass so fine, one could nearly touch one’s fingers together on either side; cristallo without an imperfection or blemish, clear as the sky, with a sparkle to rival that of diamonds.

For WIPpet Wednesday, those who want to participate post an excerpt from a current WIP that somehow relates to the date. The rest of the snippets can be found here. Thanks to K. L. Schwengel for creating the meme!

18 thoughts on “First results with Pomodoro, and an excerpt from Island of Glass for #WIPpet Wednesday”

  1. I like the name Chiara, maybe because it reminds me of a character I love from Farscape named Chiana. This little excerpt has me intrigued about this glassworking. 🙂

  2. What a beautiful description. I love the beginning, the anticipation of inspecting her own work for flaws, I felt myself holding my breath for her and praying there were no flaws. The sense of relief when it passed the test. And wonderfully unique that glass will be more valuable than traditional ‘coinage’.

  3. It’s not hard to believe that such well-made glass would be so valuable. Clearly a fantasy world–since alchemists haven’t yet made gold as far as I know…. but what a delightful fantasy world. Glass so thin that one can almost touch fingertips with a piece in between! So fragile and lovely. And precious. something like that, as delicate as it would be, would be truly worth a king’s ransom.

    Lovely image, Ruth.

  4. Echoing the comments about the fantastic descriptions. I could see Chiara squinting at the glass to find any imperfection, and felt her satisfaction when she couldn’t find any.

Leave a Reply

