Chameleon in a Mirror now available for Kindle!

My big update of the week is that I finally managed to get another book published! I uploaded Chameleon in a Mirror to KDP yesterday, and today it is live!

I want to thank all my beta readers and critique partners over the years for all their help. Feedback is so essential! I may not always take the advice I get, but I do address problems — I might resolve them in a different way than is suggested in the critiques, though. 🙂

I also have a question for you all. The only “time travel” category on Amazon that I could find is in the romance genre. CIAM has a strong romance subplot, but it’s not HEA, which romance readers expect. On the other hand, The Time Traveler’s Wife is also listed in the same category, and that’s not HEA either. Do you guys think it’s a mistake for me to list it under romance? I’m a little afraid I will end up with negative reviews for not making Billie give up everything she’s ever known for the sake of a married man. What do you guys think?

For now, the book is only available on Amazon. I’m still considering entering it in KDP Select for a while and trying a Countdown Deal with it to get more exposure before I publish it elsewhere. (But not free. I don’t believe in free anymore, with the exception of permafree.) My sales on other platforms are pretty pathetic, though, so I wouldn’t be giving much up, if anything. Amazon is where I make most of my money. If you are an ereader owner, where to you buy your ebooks?

Also, if anyone would like a review copy, please let me know!

As to my other goals, they’ve largely been on hold while I was concentrating on getting this book out. I did, however, get another short story submitted to a traditional market. That’s three so far this round! Not what I was aiming for, but still. I also continue to make progress on the translation. Now that CIAM is published, I will have to do a big push on that.

This is like a stone off my chest, I have to admit. The book may sell squat, but it’s a big item I can cross off my to-do list, and it makes me feel so much better. 🙂

Hope everyone else is happy with their progress!

23 thoughts on “Chameleon in a Mirror now available for Kindle!”

  1. I would definitely list it under Romance and also under Historical Fiction.
    Under Kindle I found a list of categories — does this help? https://kdp.amazon.com/help?topicId=201359210
    Also: is there any category for Historical Fiction – Biography (or Women Writers)? Although it’s time travel, it’s not Science Fiction. But whatever the category, Ruth, it’s a great read!

    1. Good list, Victoria, thanks! I think I’ll have to change one of my keywords to 17th century to make sure it gets listed there. Right now it’s “fantasy – historical” and “romance – time travel”

  2. Those categories are a nightmare wouldn’t know how to advise. as to where I buy my e-books I go to Smashwords first as I don’t possess a kindle – if the kindle version allows me to convert then I may download from there and convert with calibre – I need PDF or epub to read on my reader and I find reading a whole book on the computer a very unrelaxing experience.

  3. have downloaded from the UK site as it looks like I can convert – if I dont ‘hate’ it:) will post review but have a couple before yours in list – all the best and well done getting it published:)

  4. Wow well done that’s wonderful news. I wish you every success with it. I think it’s fine to list it as a romance – there’s a whole spectrum of different types of romance within the genre. 🙂

  5. I’m so excited to see you’ve published this, Ruth. I can’t promise when I would get a review written, so I won’t ask for a review copy, but you know I’ll go buy this book. Women authors of earlier centuries? Right up my alley!

    I’m also no help with categories, but I can say that I do use Amazon for most of my e-book purchases.

    Congrats on publishing!

    1. Heh, yeah, even though it’s not written in literary fiction style, I do suspect you might get a kick out of it, seeing as we have some similar research interests. And the main character (besides Aphra) is an academic. 🙂

  6. Congrats on the new release! This sounds really good – going to have to check it out. As for categories – been a member of RWA for 14 years, and I write time travel, so maybe I can help. To be romance, the relationship should be, if not the main part of the plot, a very important part, without which the story would fall apart. That’s probably why TTTW is put under romance, despite its depressing, hopeless ending. I think romance readers are more tolerant now of endings that aren’t necessarily HEA, for the most part, the ending still needs to be satisfying and have HOPE – “hopefully ever after” or “happy for now.” And I think it was Dean Wesley Smith who said that time travel is science fiction, even if the time travel device is not a science-based one. So if the relationship isn’t key enough to be romance, your book is probably Science Fiction -> Time Travel. So, hope that helps – and congrats!

    1. Thanks for the feedback, Jennette! The romance is pretty integral to the plot, and although Ravenscroft and Billie do not end up together, Billie does find a new direction through the adventure — and Aphra and Ravenscroft end up together. So it’s not like the ending is a complete downer. The time travel would not fit in Science fiction, since it’s a magic mirror, so I guess I’m going to have to leave the novel where it is for the time being and hope for the best. 🙂

Leave a Reply

