Travel theme: Ancient – Ireland

Fellow WIPpeteer Xina posted about a challenge the other day regarding ancient ruins. Since I love to travel, and one of the main things I like to do when traveling is visit old rocks (as I like to call them), I have a lot of travel photos of things ancient. I decided to share some pictures from a research trip to Ireland for my novel Yseult almost a decade ago.

First off, a picture from the ancient Celtic site, the Hill of Tara:

Tara

A couple of shots from the prehistoric burial grounds at Newgrange:

Newgrange

Newgrange

Megalithic monument from the Burren:

Burren

The early Christian site of Glendalough:

Glendalough

Ah, yes, it’s time for me to plan another trip to ancient monuments. 🙂

6 thoughts on “Travel theme: Ancient – Ireland”

  1. Wow! These are awesome! I would love to go there and look at some “old rocks” too, haha. I have a bit of an obsession with ancient burial grounds (as weird as that sounds!). That mound looks gigantic!

  2. Gorgeous photos! I was so excited to visit Stonehenge at sunrise on the winter solstice last year… after three days of beautiful weather, of course that was the day it rained. Still, I was able to get right up close and threw away all my my museum and preservation training to touch the stones. :p

Leave a Reply

