Crossing things off the to-do list – and #WIPpet Wednesday

I was over on Goodreads the other day (something I don’t actually do very often, since the ratings system there tends to depress me), and I noticed that I had a personal message. It was a note from a reader, asking if there were any plans for Shadow of Stone to be published on any other platforms like Kobo? So I had to confess that I’d been intending to for some time, but just never got around to it.

I have to admit, one of the reasons I haven’t been publishing my books like a fiend on all platforms is because I hardly sell anything anywhere besides Amazon — a couple of books a month on B&N, and on Kobo even less, a rare book in the Apple store. But one reader wanting my book was enough of a push for me to finally get the epub put together and uploaded in those places and on Draft2Digital. I haven’t done Smashwords yet, though. They still discourage uploading Epub there, and formatting a doc file for SW always takes me way too long.

I don’t have any links yet, but I will share them when I do.

I also continue to make progress on the hard copy revisions of A Wasted Land. But since I’m working in hard copy now, for WIPpet Wednesday, I’m going to go back to almost the very beginning. If I were to take an excerpt from later in the story, I would have to resist the temptation to do some polishing before uploading it, for fear of making some changes that wouldn’t be in the paper copy I’m working on. (Does that make any sense to anyone but me?)

Anyway, for the third month of the year, I am going to give you three short paragraphs from the prologue of A Wasted Land:

Kustennin gazed after the retreating figures — Myrddin with the shuffling gait of an old man, Nimue and Taliesin carrying the litter.
Evening fog began to curl around their feet, teasing at hems and legs. Kustennin’s little sister Riona laughed in delight at the shifting shadows, chasing and dancing with them. He smiled at her antics, wishing he knew her better. But for most of her life, he had been at war.
When he glanced to the north again, he could barely see Arthur and his party in the swirling mist.

WIPpet Wednesday is the brain child of K. L. Schwengel. If you’d like to participate, post an excerpt from your WIP on your blog, something that relates to the date in some way. Then add your link here — where you can also read the other excerpts. 🙂

18 thoughts on “Crossing things off the to-do list – and #WIPpet Wednesday”

  1. I haven’t had to worry about any of the formatting stuff yet, but it sounds like it can be difficult. I wish e-book sellers would switch to a standard format, the way we have MP3s for music, but a standardized file type for all e-book sellers doesn’t sound like it’s in the cards any time soon.

    Have a great week, Ruth! Happy writing. 🙂

    1. Formatting is actually not that hard with Scrivener, since you can export both as Mobi and Epub, but you have to check the formatting, and check with Epub-Check, and upload the file in all the different places … which just means it always takes a lot of time.

      Thanks for stopping by!

  2. I know what you mean about outlets other than Amazon. I haven’t made time to format my stuff for them either. Just another thing on the list …

    Your excerpt is intriguing, and a little bittersweet, what with the reflection about war. It really sets a powerful mood. Brava!

  3. I completely understand your hesitation with using other publishing platforms. Formatting is pain and I’ve been unsuccessful alone, so I’m getting help before publishing my second novel. Those readers are great motivation, pushing us to keep going in the right direction.

    Nice excerpt, by the way! 🙂

    1. Thanks, Chloe!

      For the formatting, you might want to try out Scrivener (if you haven’t already). It exports to both Mobi and Epub format. Of course, nothing helps for the formatted Doc files that Smashwords wants …

  4. I love the image of the little girl dancing and laughing in the shadows. Nice!

    I know next to nothing about formatting at this point, though I suppose it’s time to learn since my novel is in its last beta run-through before my final edits.

  5. That’s a very moving scene. You can feel Kustennin’s regret over having to leave his family again, but also his sense of duty as he checks the progress of the other knights.

  6. Poor Kustennin. And yet, he will serve his place well. Not without some regrets, of course.

    I think your Goodreads experience is part of what appeals to me so much about self-publishing, Ruth. The direct connection with a reader and the ability (even if it’s not super convenient or easy) to help readers access your work.

  7. I find this a little intriguing Ruth. Is Riona Kustennin’s daughter? And are the people who’re leaving important to him? Whatever the answers, this is an atmospheric excerpt. 🙂

  8. I just found out about Draft2Digital and decided to use that for Emergence. I will likely pull FOHK from Smashwords as I do very few sales off it.

    Love the WIPpet. A lot of atmospheric qualities and a bit of a heaviness that Riona plays innocent counterpoint to.

    1. AND D2D is much easier to format for! All you need is an Epub file from Scrivener. 🙂 I’ve sometimes had to do some fiddling for the ITunes store, but all told, it’s much more convenient than Smashwords.

Leave a Reply

