Shadow of Stone now available on B&N etc., and a snippet for my #WIPpet

First a confession: the weather in Central Europe is much too good right now for blogging. We’ve been spending all our spare time at the piece of property we have among the vineyards not far from our house. S.O. has been pruning trees, and I have been digging up weeds and replacing them with flower bulbs, mostly lilies. But now the crocuses are blooming, and some are even on the way out.

Spring in Central Europe

For me, keeping up with the translation and the revisions in hard copy of A Wasted Land take precedence over writing blog posts. Which is why I haven’t shown up here in my home in Cyberspace for a while. Despite the gardening, I do continue to move forward with the most important stuff. And as I mentioned last week, with some prodding from a Goodreads reader, I finally uploaded Shadow of Stone to other venues besides Amazon. I am happy to announce that it is now available:

On Barnes and Noble

On Kobo

On the iTunes store.

With that out of the way, I can get on to the real business of the day — or rather yesterday, since I’m a day late: WIPpet Wednesday (Thursday)! My math today for 3/13 goes like this: 3 + 1 + 3 = 7 paragraphs from A Wasted Land:

Kustennin nodded. “I should lead the scouting party.” He glanced briefly at his mother, almost embarrassed at what he was about to say. Normally, Kustennin was reluctant to use the powers he had inherited from Yseult of Eriu, but at the same time, he was well aware that they could be a powerful ally. He knew his hesitation was far from logical. In the end, it came down to one thing: his image of himself as a warrior, not a magician.
“I have some of my mother’s powers of changing,” Kustennin added “I could cloak a small party in illusion, if necessary.”
Taliesin looked up from the plate of cheese and bread he had been devoting himself to. “And I have the ability to help you. We could travel to Venta as a group of traveling minstrels.”
“Wouldn’t that be dangerous?” Celemon asked. “What if one of you were recognized?”
The bard shrugged. “It would be less dangerous for a troupe of players in Cerdic’s territories than for a band of enemy warriors, I’d wager.”
“Who said anything about going to Venta as minstrels?” Kustennin tried to repress the frown he could feel lurking in the muscles of his forehead, but he wasn’t sure if he was successful.
Taliesin clapped him on the back. “Why I did, my liege!”

WIPpet Wednesday is the brain child of K. L. Schwengel. If you’d like to participate, post an excerpt from your WIP on your blog, something that relates to the date in some way. Then add your link here — where you can also read the other excerpts. 🙂

17 thoughts on “Shadow of Stone now available on B&N etc., and a snippet for my #WIPpet”

  1. O my GOODNESS, those crocuses! Thank you for that beautiful burst of spring. I needed it today. 🙂

    It’s interesting to see a character who’s reluctant to use magic. I can only imagine that if I had it, I’d be using it constantly. Different worlds, different upbringings… really adds depth to the world and the character.

    1. Glad you like the crocuses, Kate! So do we. 🙂

      Kustennin has a very ambivalent attitude to the powers he inherited from his mother. I’m hoping it will add interest and depth to his character.

  2. Ruth, I am so jealous of your crocuses! Right now in New York City it’s 22°F; with the wind chill it’s 5°F! (This third of the U.S. has a bad case of cabin fever all winter and spring can’t come soon enough!)

    1. Ah, you are in the worst of it in NA! (Except of course around Minot, ND, and all places north.) My family is in the Northwest. They had a couple of extremely unusually cold spells, but nothing like what other parts of NA are experiencing. While we here in Germany are weeks ahead of normal spring vegetation!

  3. Spring is doing its usual wild and wacky thing here in the mountains of Virginia. It went from topping 70 on Tuesday to a windy Wednesday to spitting a wintry mix at us last night. Fortunately I’m mostly used to the meteorological craziness by now. 😉

    I’ve only been to Germany in the summer, but it was beautiful. I loved it. I can only imagine how lovely spring is there. Your photo offers a wonderful taste of springtime.

    1. Spring here is quite different from year to year. I can’t remember it ever arriving so early, but that’s global warming for you. This time of year, Germany often has freezes, sometimes lengthy. But this year, winter never really arrived. If it still does after all, we’re out of luck where the fruit tees are concerned, since they are already budding.

      1. I grew up in Pennsylvania, and we had freezes well into spring. It always made me a little sad when we’d have a freeze that would kill the fruit blossoms. Hopefully spring has arrived to stay in your part of the world!

  4. Nice WIPpet – I love the bit about trying to repress the frown. I know that feeling well – don’t let it show all over my face! And I’m glad you’re enjoying good weather too. It’s actually the end of summer here, so I’ve been feeling a bit sorry for the others who are freezing on the other side of the world. At least the seasons change!

    1. We didn’t really freeze much at all this year, which is weird. My family in Oregon and Washington had more winter than we did.

      New Zealand is on our to-see list. Hopefully we’ll make it one of these days. 🙂

  5. Ah, so that’s what flowers and growing things look like. *glances out window at ice-encrusted snow* A distant memory…

    Great WIPpet as always. I love Kustennin’s reluctance to use his magic. It makes him–and it–far more interesting.

  6. Surprise!!! 🙂 I think it’s great that Kustennin is a little shy about his magical ability. Usually, those who hide their magic do so because they’re afraid of it or rejection rather than because it’s just not high on their priority list of abilities to hone. 🙂

  7. Wow! Those are some GORGEOUS flowers! I know what you mean about the weather, although I’m not anywhere near Central Europe (dang it!). It’s been lovely here – birds singing and perfect weather. Spring is my favorite time of year.

    Great excerpt! Traveling minstrels may be a smidge less noticeable than warriors … except, of course, if they are toting fancy swords with them as well. 🙂 I like how hesitant Kustennin is to offer his magical assistance. It says a lot about his comfort level with magic.

  8. Oh!

    I want to go out and look for my crocuses. Maybe I should get some snowshoes, first, though!

    I am hearing the birds at dawn, though, so I know spring will be here. This is still a lot better than the winter I spent in Wyoming! Although not nearly as delightful as the two in Oregon, where there were February flowers. And then there was that one in the Everglades….

    Your crocuses are delicious, and I’m so glad you shared with all of us still a ways from our own!

    Seconding Raewyn on the frown. I can feel it making my face ache!

Leave a Reply

