Progress on various fronts, Spain workshop, and more Recontact for #WIPpet Wednesday

In the last week, my progress has once again mostly been on the translation, but I have good news — I’m done with the novel proper! All I still have to translate is the glossary and the list of characters. I’m hoping I can get that done tonight. Yay!

My writing progress has been limited to getting this revision pass of Recontact finished, a novella I wrote with Jay Lake. This round of editing too is done, although the novella is not. Next week, I’m off to southern Spain for the next Villa Diodati workshop, where my wonderful fellow expat writers will tear Recontact apart, so that I can put it back together newer and better.

This is where I will be come next Wednesday, working oh so hard on my writing:

Villa Diodati 12

Since I’ll be spending most of Wednesday getting there, and most of the Wednesday following getting back, I probably won’t be posting anything for WIPpet Wednesday the next two weeks. Instead, I may have a few pictures of Costa del Sol. ๐Ÿ™‚

The WIP this week is still Recontact. My math for 4/23 goes like this: 23-4=19. So here are 19 sentences from the pov of Melia, a priestess on the planet of Bonifium:

Melia
Bent over her crystal voice, carefully sliding the prayer arm back and forth, Melia did not immediately register the ruckus in the courtyard below. She’d caught wisps of a noise which might be Holy Data streaming from the women in heaven. Like prayer, but aimed back down at the unworthy who scarcely had ears to listen.
She was focusing so much on the voice, it took a while for the noise of horses and new arrivals to disturb her concentration. When it finally began to penetrate, she reluctantly took the stairs down – with her hard face, the one that most people cringed from. All in her clade knew better than to interrupt when she was listening to her voices.
But in the courtyard outside, her anger slid away as fast as rain on tile. Her demi-sister Namma sat on a lathered horse, looking little better than her mount, while Petras the house-steward helped her dismount.
Namma had been in the command ranks at Fonstead – presumed lost in the siege.
“Sib!” Namma cried from the saddle, and slid off with a grunt. The fool Petras barely managed to catch her. Melia doused a surge of rage and ran to help.
“I was at Naxos Bay,” Namma got out. “They are back. I saw them.”
The cold stab which seized Melia’s heart could have come from a silvered knife tempered by moonlight and a man’s gut. She felt the surge of history moving, the sense of the land around her as strong as her own skin, the years marching through her thoughts on the feet of insects, until the potential of this moment felt fit to balloon her skin and spill out like light from all her pores.
“The Prophecy is fulfilled?” she gasped.
“The star, the strangers – it is the Second Landing. It must be!”

WIPpet Wednesday is the brain child of K. L. Schwengel. If youโ€™d like to participate, post an excerpt from your WIP on your blog, something that relates to the date in some way. Then add your link here — where you can also read the other excerpts.

20 thoughts on “Progress on various fronts, Spain workshop, and more Recontact for #WIPpet Wednesday”

  1. Yes, that picture definitely shows you will be working *cough* very hard, and in such primitive surroundings. Ah! The suffering we endure for our craft! ๐Ÿ˜‰ I can’t wait to hear about the trip and how Recontact fares.

    1. Yeah, I know I’m sacrificing myself, flying all that way just to hang out with a bunch of other writers … by the pool … in southern Spain …

      I will definitely let you all know how Recontact fares. ๐Ÿ™‚

    1. *g* Although, in truth, I’m actually pretty good at writing when hanging out in the sun with my Netbook. OTOH, I’m also hoping to take a day off and get to Granada and see the Alhambra … ๐Ÿ™‚

  2. haha Wish I could join you! It looks so relaxing, and to be in the sun! Even better.

    I struggled with the first sentence of this excerpt and the last paragraph. I don’t knot if it’s just because I don’t have any context (pretty sure this is the first time I’m seeing this piece) but it was probably because I had no clue what crystal voice (thought more actual voice) and angel arm were. The last paragraph just seemed to be a lot of flowery description, if that makes sense. I didn’t get a huge sense of her world being turned upside down or completed, whichever it is, through the prophecy being fulfilled.

    Just a few thoughts. I love the religious element in this piece though. I’m a sucker for those kinds of stories.

    1. Thanks for the feedback, Adrian! I will toss it into the pot after this novella gets critiqued at Villa Diodati and try to figure out what I still need to address.

      The religion in the story is pretty skewed, I can tell you that much. ๐Ÿ™‚

  3. Ah, that’ll be rough, having to work in such a lovely place, but I know you can do it. ๐Ÿ˜‰

    I love this image: “her anger slid away as fast as rain on tile.” It struck me just right.

  4. Congrats on the translation! It always feels good to make progress on something.

    Lovely excerpt. I really enjoyed it! Very vivid and nicely flowing – and I loved this line: “She felt the surge of history moving…” Such a great description!

      1. One of the great things about living in Europe — you can get to all kinds of cool places without paying an arm and a leg. And plenty are even within driving distance!

        That and decent, affordable health care, of course. *g*

  5. Work hard, Ruth. Who knows when Life’s distractions will die down again and let you “get back to work” again. ๐Ÿ˜€

    I wanted to note that I, like Adrian, staggered a moment in the first paragraph (still not sure what the angel arm is supposed to be, if there even is something equivalent). But the end, I thought I had the main idea, but missed a few pieces that a larger context would have filled in. The language is delightfully lyrical

  6. Exciting! Only, I’m not sure whether its a good exciting, or a scary exciting. Melia’s reaction, with the cold-stab versus swelling potential, could be either.

    I had to laugh at, “knew better than to interrupt when she was listening to her voices.” Reminds me of trying to write. ๐Ÿ˜‰

    I have a friend in Spain right now. Although, she’s there for vacation/occupational therapy stuff, not writing.

    1. Melia is a bit of a fanatic at this point, being a priestess and all, so for her the potential outweighs the scary momentous moment. But your reaction is great — the reader should be questioning her reactions. ๐Ÿ™‚

Leave a Reply

