Clarion West Write-a-thon to the rescue!

I continue to be extremely listless writing-wise since Jay Lake’s death. I’ve been keeping busy, though. I finally organized my trip to Britain for a friend’s wedding the beginning of July. I’ll be staying a couple of extra days to research some sites for A Wasted Land.

This weekend, we also went to the Bodensee / Lake Constance, with a short jog into Switzerland to see the Rheinfall, the Rhine Falls. That was a lot of fun.

Meersburg

Rhine Falls in Switzerland

It inspired us to promise each other to get away a bit more again. Since we bought our little piece of property, we haven’t been doing much in the way of weekend excursions anymore. Who’s going to water the tomatoes, after all??? Which are looking quite good, btw. Still green, but we are harvesting other things already.

A modest harvest

I want to thank those of you who volunteered to help out with the ebook launch of Island of Glass in the comments of my last post. I will try to get back to you in the next couple of days. I’ve been doing about as much social media in recent weeks as I have writing — next to none.

Given my lack of creativity, I’ve been beta-reading. I also got back to a project I’ve been putting together for my dad, a book of photographs and some travel reports from our trip to Norway on the Hurtigruten a couple of years back. And I will publish it too! But it’s not the kind of writing I want to be doing.

So today, to add a little accountability and structure to my attempt to get back to writing, I signed up for the Clarion West Write-a-thon. You can check out my page here. My goals are very modest this round — an average of 500 words a day, five days a week, 15,000 words for the six weeeks of Clarion West. Mostly I’m hoping that it will help me get back to better writing habits again. Besides, I’ll be away in Britain for a week, and I still intend to make the total of 15,000. As I said, very modest, but better than a paragraph here and there between editing and formatting jobs!

Wishing everyone a successful week. 🙂

3 thoughts on “Clarion West Write-a-thon to the rescue!”

  1. I wonder if there’s something in the air with this struggling to get back into writing routines? Apart from personal circumstances, that is.
    Perhaps it’s the fault of that pesky Solstice. Now she’s done her thing and the world is turning again, so might we be able to, too.

  2. 500 words a day is a very nice, manageable, but progress-inducing goal. I like it!

    And those photographs are just beautiful! Thanks for sharing. Have a lovely next round!

  3. Given that you just lost someone close to you, it’s only natural that you’d struggle with the creative process. I’d say give it time, be kind to yourself, and the writing will return.

    The images you shared are beautiful. I look forward to seeing more photos when you return from Britain.

    Good luck with your new goals. Writing 500 words daily will provide steady progress on your manuscript without being overwhelming. Sounds like a good goal to me.

Leave a Reply

