Progress but no progress bars, and #WIPpet Wednesday

My writing goals got a little waylaid again last week, but I’ve mostly managed to catch up with myself again. My total word count for the week was 3100 words. I posted the latest installment of “Starting out as an indie author” a day late, but at least I didn’t give in to temptation and put it off even longer. (*patting myself on the back*)

In my continued battle to keep myself honest, I also looked into adding progress bars to my blog, but I couldn’t figure it out without spending sh*tloads of time on it. If anyone has done it before and has tips for me, do leave me a note in the comments!

In lieu of progress bars, I have put together a list of my works in progress, word counts, and estimates (I *hate* estimates! *g*):

A Wasted Land
43,700 of 70,000 estimated

Sooper sekrit project
10,600 of 60,000 estimated

Life in the Fjord Lane (travel, mostly pictures with little text; work largely formatting)
1100 of 3000 estimated

Facets of Glass (YA novella)
1200 of 25,000 estimated

Starting out as an Indie Author
6500 (no estimate)

I will keep posting the list until the day, when and if, I learn how to add progress bars to my blog. 🙂

On to Wippet Wednesday. The day’s math: 8 + 13 = 22 — 22 short sentences from A Wasted Land. In this snippet, I am returning to where I was two weeks ago, before I wrote last week’s scene of loss to deal with loss of my own. Kustennin and Celemon are inspecting disused military sites on the border to Cerdic’s lands with an eye to setting up a new base of operations:

A gust of wind tugged strands of hair out of her thick braid, and she pulled them back with one hand as she turned to her childhood friend. “Have I told you yet how grateful I am that you appointed me Master of Horse?”
“There is no need to be grateful –“
She held up her free hand, stopping him with a gesture. “Yes, there is. You redefined the role in such a way that I, a woman with little knowledge of warfare other than what I hear and experience from a distance, could take the position.”
“I have many men who can lead a cavalry unit,” Kustennin said. “But no one who can see to the purchase and the breeding of the horses needed besides you — at least no one with your knowledge of horseflesh.”
Celemon did her best to tuck the loose strands of hair behind her ears. “Except your step-father.”
“Who begged me to find someone else as Master of Horse,” he reminded her.
“Nonetheless, please be graceful enough to accept my thanks, Kustennin.”
He smiled at that and inclined his head in acknowledgment. “A hit. You are welcome.”
She smiled back. “I feel I’ve done little so far, but I love the work.” She laid a hand on his forearm on the balustrade near her. “Besides, I do not know what I would have done with myself after Aurelius married Bethan — I no longer have a father whose household I could run, and my brother will surely soon marry and start a family of his own.”
Kustennin shook his head, the smile slowly vanishing from his face. “What are you talking about?”

Cover-I-Want-for-Kustennin

Cover art for A Wasted Land

WIPpet Wednesday is the brain child of K. L. Schwengel. If you’d like to participate, post an excerpt from your WIP on your blog, something that relates to the date in some way. Then add your link here — where you can also read the other excerpts.

* Note: I’m exceedingly p*ssed off at WordPress right now, because it seems to have decided it’s smarter than me and won’t do blockquotes where I want them — it kept adding all the info from the list above my snippet, and I’ve had to redo this post four times. Even when I switched from visual to text and redid the code, WordPress still moved the beginning of the blockquote up! So I ended up italicizing my excerpt rather than using blockquotes.

One thing I hate more than anything is software that thinks it knows what I want better than I do … grumble, grumble …

19 thoughts on “Progress but no progress bars, and #WIPpet Wednesday”

  1. Great scene. I loved the interaction between your two characters. And you’ve ended it on a real cliffhanger – intriguing.

    Also – wow! You’ve got so many projects going on, I’m really impressed! I’ve got one and that’s more than enough for me but I do admire other writers who are able to juggle lots at the same time. Seems to me it’s quite an art! Well done. 🙂

  2. Wow, lots of WIPs!

    You want to google ProgPress, a small progress bar widget for WordPress.org sites. I don’t know if it will work with WordPress.com sites, though – it depends on if WordPress.com lets you install it. It’s pretty simple, although the instructions really assume you know ALL ABOUT coding. If you want to prettify your progress bars, then you do need to know coding. However, if you just want to have a vanilla progress bar (check my blog for an example), then ProgPress is a good choice. You install it, you place the widget somewhere, you title the widget and add your words written and words total, and that’s it. Each WIP gets its own widget. If you can install it, feel free to ask me any questions you might have on it. There’s even a NaNoWriMo plugin for ProgPress, which pulls your NaNo progress for you during November.

    1. That’s where I was getting defeated, Tammy — all the hits I got when I googled seemed to indicated that progress bars only work on self-hosted WordPress sites.

      Well, maybe I’m just out of luck, since I don’t want or need the extra expense or work at this point.

      1. Before you give up on the expense or work of self-hosting, consider the expense and work of moving your readership base to your self-hosted site after you’ve grown it more. I moved to self-hosting when I had 40 subscribers, and I’m glad I didn’t have to worry about moving hundreds.

  3. Don’t feel bad. I wouldn’t be able to do them either. You have a LOT of projects going on right now. I’m always envious of people who can work on multiple things at once. My muse won’t let me. It’s one thing at a time.

  4. Wow! Your cover art is FANTASTIC! So evocative and eye-catching! You’ve got great taste. 🙂

    Nice excerpt. I’m digging Kustennin. What an intriguing guy. Great job for keeping on track with your goals. Life just keeps on keeping on, doesn’t it? It’s both a blessing and a heartache that it’s like that, I think.

    1. Oh, that’s the one I see in lots of places! Thanks for the link!
      Ruth, when I did my own progress reporting I used a spreadsheet with a very simple chart. As I updated the spreadsheet every day I wrote on a particular project, the chart automatically updated itself and when it came to a ROW80 progress post I made the chart into a jpeg and uploaded the jpeg.
      You can see this in practice at http://leemcaulay.wordpress.com/2012/04/04/progress-1-row80-2012/
      (wow, 2012, I had no idea…!)
      You could also add it as a widget on the sidebar and use percentages – if you understand a little code you can see how the GoodReads reading challenge widget works and make your own adaptation… 🙂

  5. I like this. I feel like there’s a layer of subtext here that will be revealed in time. Something in the way she touches him, or how he responds to the news that her brother might soon marry. Hmmmn.

    Sometimes WordPress is just silly. For the last few weeks, it won’t let me change the font size of ANYTHING!

  6. Ugh, yeah, I had WordPress do that to me a few times. And I’m definitely not techie enough to figure it all out.

    Nice excerpt. I really like their exchange here. They intrigue me, and I wonder what their alliance will bring in the future.

  7. I’m glad Denise and Adrian found links to progress bars for you. I don’t know which I used, but I did have some on my blog at one point.

    I love, love, love, love that cover work. Very nice. Moody, powerful…yum. And the excerpt is great, though I wonder what Celemon has on her mind.

  8. Lots of enigmatic touching in this WIPpet. Intriguing. That last line really sharpens the end-of-scene. And the progress in spite of all else seems nothing less than amazing to me. I do use Critic’s Circle for a progress bar (my first), and it seemed pretty simple to add to my blogspot page. Not sure about Word Press. Here’s the link: http://www.critiquecircle.com May this be a good week!

  9. Ah, WordPress…. it taxes me too. Right now, it won’t let me see pictures via my Zemanta plug-in because it alters the way the page scrolls. (though it hasn’t messed with my actual code yet *crosses fingers*)

    Poor Kustennin… the last to know. 😀

Leave a Reply

