Late update and #WIPpet for Wednesday (Thursday …)

Can you say tomatoes? That’s one of the reasons I’m late this week. Big fat tomato harvest and the need to make stewed tomatoes and spaghetti sauce and tomato consomme and freeze a bunch so it won’t all go to waste! Add to that the fact that I’m on my own little personal writing roll, and yesterday I just didn’t feel like interrupting that for an extended blogging session … So far this week I’ve written 2300 words on Facets of Glass. For about the last month, I’ve been consistently writing at least 4000 words a week, even taking a day off for marketing each week — AND with a glut of tomatoes. 🙂

I know that for some people that’s a daily word count, but I’ve been stuck for so many years at 500 words a day, five days a week, that for me this is starting to look like the beginning of a breakthrough. I’m not going to celebrate too much yet. First I want to see if it really does become a habit — and maybe even something I can improve on!

Anyway, on to your WIPpet for Thursday. WIPpet Wednesday is the brain child of K. L. Schwengel. If you’d like to participate, post an excerpt from your WIP on your blog, something that relates to the date in some way. Then add your link here — where you can also read the other excerpts.

This week I’m going to inflict another book description on you guys. Today I’ve been working on getting Book II of Yseult ready for publication, so that’s how it relates to the date. *g* Here’s the cover I have:

Yseult, Part II: A Man and a Woman

And here’s the blurb:

The second book of Yseult, a #1 bestseller in Arthurian and Historical Fantasy!

Drystan had imagined his homecoming very differently — not returning to a father who is breaking treaties and sleeping with his niece. In order to save the family honor, Drystan fights a duel and is seriously wounded. His only hope lies in the mysterious land of Eriu, with the famous healer and queen, Yseult the Wise.

When he sets out for Eriu, Drystan does not expect to survive the journey. Nor does he expect to fall in love with the queen’s daughter, Yseult the Fair. If only the man he had killed in the duel had not been Yseult’s uncle and the queen’s brother.

Yseult is a retelling of the tragic love story of Tristan and Isolde, an Arthurian romance with roots going back far into the realm of legend and the undying tales of King Arthur.

So what do you guys think? Is it too much reciting what happens and not enough suspense to intrigue the reader? Please do rip it apart! I was very happy with your critiques last week and completely redid the description as a result. Thank you all so much!

20 thoughts on “Late update and #WIPpet for Wednesday (Thursday …)”

  1. The one big thing I would change is the sudden revelation that Drystan has killed Yseult’s uncle in the second paragraph. As a suggestion, maybe “In order to save his family’s honor, Drystan fights a duel. Emerging the victor, but seriously wounded, he knows his only hope lies in the sister of the man he killed in the mysterious land of Eriu.” or something to that effect.

  2. I have many memories of helping my parents can tomatoes–especially the years when we had a bumper crop. It’s messy work, but I always enjoyed it. 🙂

    I liked the book description, though I might shorten the second paragraph. For example: “When Drystan is seriously wounded in a duel, his only hope lies in the mysterious land of Eriu, with the famous healer and queen, Yseult the Wise.” That tightens it a little.

  3. Tomatoes! I love them in any form. But homemade tomato sauce is my absolute favorite way to enjoy them. 🙂

    I liked the first paragraph, but the second one feels both too revealing and like something’s missing. I think it needs to be more mysterious, maybe a bit more suspenseful.

  4. Nice description. I’m not going to add anything since you have plenty of suggestions about it. LOL

    I planted four tomato plants this year. I’ve made salsa, but I haven’t made tomato sauce. We’ve just picked the last of the season, so I’m seriously thinking about trying my hand at sauce. If I can figure out how to seed the little stinkers. 🙂

      1. That it does!

        BTW, something is up with your blog, Lauralynn. When I tried to comment on your most recent post, I got a page not found error message. No idea how that could happen, but you might want to look into it! I wanted to tell you (among other things) that I really liked the there will be popcorn line. 🙂

    1. I tried twice, first with the “leave a comment” link, then clicking on the title of the post and trying to leave a comment from the post proper. I didn’t go through the linky, I went through the link from my blog.

  5. I might be a bit strange, and it might be past the point when you can do anything about this – but, to me, a book titled “A Man and A Woman” should have a man and a woman on the cover!

    Oddly, I didn’t notice there was only one woman on the “Two Women” cover, but now I’m fixating on that, too…

    When Jeremiah was a toddler, he would eat tomatoes as though they were apples. They were his very favorite food, and he can still rhapsodize about a fat beefsteak tomato from time to time.

    Annalise, on the other hand, was a banana enthusiast of the highest order until she was 4 or so. At ten, she doesn’t eat them at all!

    1. There’s a reason for that, Shan. I don’t want the covers to diverge too much form the original, complete novel, for fear someone might buy them thinking they’re a new book of mine, rather than all 200,000 words cut into individual parts. As the overarching title is Yseult, the original cover seemed appropriate.

      1. I see where you’re coming from. It’s just a personal thing with me – as a teen, I would examine the covers of my Star Trek novels to see how well the art represented the story (oh, yes, I’ve been a geek for a LOOOONG time!).

        I do love the cover; I just have my weird quirks!

  6. ” Is it too much reciting what happens and not enough suspense to intrigue the reader?” Yes. 🙂 Maybe I have synopsis on the brain, but this reads more like that and less like a blurb (which my Kindle just autocorrected to Bourbon.) I’d punch it up. Leave me questions I’ll only get answered by reading the book.

Leave a Reply

