Yes, I did forget Wednesday: More from Facets of Glass a day late

That’s not entirely true. By the time I saw the other Wednesday Wippet posts in my mailbox, it was too late and I was too tired to write a blog post. So without further ado, a day late, here are 4 short paragraphs from Facets of Glass. My math for 10/2: 1+2=3, plus the extra sentence to end the scene. This excerpt comes shortly after the one I posted last week. I only skipped a couple of spoilery parts:

The Dowager Princess put the telltale glass apple back into its box and laid it with the invitation from Prague on a side table. Then she called one of the guards standing watch at the double doors of her audience chamber to her side. He was one of her favorites, an attractive young man with soft golden-brown hair tied in the neat queue at the back of his neck required of the Foscari guardsmen. She knew she’d asked his name before, thinking it might come in handy someday to help bind him to her. What was it again? Something unusual, not common in Venice.
Yes, she had it, a name from the south part of the Italian peninsula. “Gaetan, could you please fetch the witch Vanna for me? Oh, and tell her to bring her magic looking glass.”
She saw the way his eyes widened and a smile touched his lips at her use of his name. He bowed low and straightened again. “It will be my pleasure, Your Grace.”
Yes, she could build on that.

17th century soldier
A soldier during the period of The Glassmakers

BTW, I’m still taking volunteers for the cover reveal on Oct. 14 for the first book in this series, Island of Glass. Let me know in the comments if you’d like to help out!

WIPpet Wednesday is the brain child of K. L. Schwengel. If you’d like to participate, post an excerpt from your WIP on your blog, something that relates to the date in some way. Then add your link here — where you can also read the other excerpts.

5 thoughts on “Yes, I did forget Wednesday: More from Facets of Glass a day late”

  1. This is awesome. I’m sure I’m imagining a whole slew of things that aren’t going to happen in this novel (since it’s YA and all that), BUT it did give me good ideas for perhaps future works in the many years to come.

    I love how she knows exactly what she’s doing with the guard, and how very aware she is of every impact she seems to be making with him. It’s either the true sign of a leader or the true sign of a manipulator.

  2. Did I already tell you I’d join in the reveal? Um, if not, add me to your list. 🙂

    Another great excerpt. I love how much you show us about the Princess’s character by how she thinks about the guard, how she uses his name to win him over. Such a simple thing, but from a princess…oh, it means so much more when your station is so far below hers.

  3. I love how thoughtful and deliberate your characters are. It really fleshes them out and makes their motivations and reasoning real.

    Hey, congrats on the upcoming cover reveal! How exciting! I’m definitely interested in helping out. Give me a buzz over at xuwriter at gmail dot com and we’ll coordinate.

Leave a Reply

