A mostly marketing update, and more mirror for #WIPpet Wednesday

With the cover reveal for Island of Glass yesterday, the first free run in almost a year that I’ve organized for one of my books, and a lot of work on the big translation project, I haven’t had much time for actual writing so far this week. What free time I’ve been able to devote to my writing has been taken up with marketing.

But that is going VERY well! I want to thank you all so much who participated in the cover reveal for Island of Glass. The book isn’t even out yet, and it has already cracked a Top 100 list with pre-orders! Here’s where it stands as of this writing:

Amazon Best Sellers Rank: #38,198 Paid in Kindle Store (See Top 100 Paid in Kindle Store)
#50 in Kindle Store > Kindle eBooks > Teen & Young Adult > Science Fiction & Fantasy > Fantasy > Fairy Tales & Folklore

You guys are the greatest! *Hugs* ๐Ÿ˜€

As to the free book, that’s my Aphra Behn time travel, Chameleon in a Mirror. I tossed that one out on the market earlier this year without a plan. It’s been limping along and still doesn’t even have enough reviews for me to advertize it anywhere. So I decided to try out “free” again for a change, in the hopes that a few people will download, read, and review. More on that decision tomorrow, since it’s free through Saturday, and I have time. Right now I just want to share with you how well it’s doing on its free run:

Amazon Best Sellers Rank: #382 Free in Kindle Store (See Top 100 Free in Kindle Store)
#1 in Kindle Store > Kindle eBooks > Literature & Fiction > Historical Fiction > Fantasy
#2 in Kindle Store > Kindle eBooks > Science Fiction & Fantasy > Fantasy > New Adult & College
#3 in Kindle Store > Kindle eBooks > Science Fiction & Fantasy > Fantasy > Historical

Chameleon in a Mirror

So grab yourself a copy while you can! Tell your friends so they can grab a copy too! *g*

On to WIPpet Wednesday. I’m still posting from Facets of Glass, the second book in the Glassmakers trilogy after Island of Glass. It’s getting a bit difficult to do without providing spoilers, so this excerpt is a page or so after the last one I gave you, skipping the bits with a bit too much information. So here are 15 sentences for the 15th day of the month. Princess Zilia has just seen what the magic mirror has to show her:

The dowager princess clenched her hands in the folds of her skirts, controlling her anger with an effort. She hated many things, but she particularly hated betrayal. That combined with potential pecuniary loss to the Empire of Venice made it all the more heinous in her eyes.
โ€œI would like to keep this mirror in my rooms for the time being,โ€ she told the witch.
Vanna pressed her lips together before she spoke. โ€œWith all due respect, Princess Zilia, this mirror is my main source of income.โ€
โ€œAnd I would not dream of taking it from you without compensation,โ€ she said, although of course she had. โ€œI treasure your services too much. Inform my steward what your projected loss of income will be, and he will see to it that you are paid.โ€
The witch seemed to choke back a sigh of relief. โ€œThank you, Your Grace. May I inquire as to what you intend to do with the mirror, as you do not have the magic to ask questions of it yourself?โ€
โ€œKeep it out of the hands of others, Vanna, no more and no less.โ€
โ€œAh, very wise.โ€
โ€œYou are dismissed. The apple please?โ€

WIPpet Wednesday is the brain child of K. L. Schwengel. If youโ€™d like to participate, post an excerpt from your WIP on your blog, something that relates to the date in some way. Then add your link here — where you can also read the other excerpts.

24 thoughts on “A mostly marketing update, and more mirror for #WIPpet Wednesday”

  1. Great excerpt Ruth. I really got a good sense of the tension between the characters and of the princess’s anger.

    Lovely cover reveal BTW. Best of luck with it – looks like it’s gonna do well. And I downloaded ‘Chameleon in a Mirror’. ๐Ÿ™‚

  2. Those statistics are great. I’m so pleased for you. I thoroughly enjoyed the snippet. I want to know more about the mirror and the power it holds. I’m really drawn to Princess Zilia; she has a power which isn’t entirely related to her position.

  3. Damn….wonder what she saw =P ranking is awesome, especially on pre-order books!! Zilia’s character is fantastically done, and very unlikeable at the moment.

  4. Congratulations!!!

    I’m very intrigued by this story, but then, you already knew that. I’m assuming the something in the mirror has something to do with a certain glass maker. Exciting. ๐Ÿ™‚

  5. Zilia is quite the strong character! I’m getting some Sleeping Beauty vibes with the mirror and magic and Zilia perhaps a witch? Or maybe I’m off base …

    Great job on the cover reveal and the other book! I’m glad that someone’s having success at this self publishing thing! ๐Ÿ™‚

  6. Oh, wow! Congratulations on your pre-order success! That’s fantastic. ๐Ÿ™‚

    I really want to know what she saw in the mirror that made her decide to buy it and keep others from seeing anything in it. I’m not sure I like her very much.

Leave a Reply

