Arguing with a magic mirror for #WIPpet Wednesday

Last week, I got a surprising amount of wordage written, despite all the preparations for the launch of Island of Glass. (Thank you all very much for your help!) Anyway, the book is now published, I’ve gotten back into the swing of things regarding marketing my fiction, and last week I added a total of 6,000 words to various projects.

I’m still undecided whether I will try to do Nano this year. I have so many projects going right now, I don’t really want to abandon any of them. Well, I still have a couple of days to decide.

I also wanted to mention that with Halloween coming up, I’m going to be giving away my short story, “Misty and the Magic Pumpkin Knife” from Oct. 30 – Nov. 3 FREE on Amazon. So if you don’t have it yet, grab yourself a copy!

After that brief update, let’s continue on to WIPpet Wednesday. Dowager Princess Zilia has just dismissed the witch Vanna and is very irritated with the magic mirror for not performing for her as it did for the witch. For Oct. 29, I give you 7 short paragraphs for the day of the month (9-2):

She put the precious apple on a side table and drew a deep breath, then another, and another. She had the magic mirror, and she could call on Vanna’s services at any time. She did not need to control the magic herself — she had a monopoly on the purveyors of magic in Venice.
The only person she could truly trust was herself. She much preferred to have the reins in her own hands.
On the other hand, while a witch or an alchemist was perfectly capable of deception, what was the case with a magic mirror? Zilia had seen the mirror’s answers with her own eyes, after all, and they were quite clear.
The dowager princess turned back to the mirror. “So, Mirror, can you lie like the rest of us? Or must you always tell the truth?”
The mirror remained silent, the images it reflected unchanging.
Zilia began to pace her retiring room, forcing the mirror to follow her lead. “Perhaps I should return you to Vanna after all,” she said to the mirror. “Seeing as you are useless to me without her. But no, it is as I told the witch, I do not want anyone else accessing your magic at this time.”
The mirror followed her movements patiently.


Another mirror, just because it’s so pretty

WIPpet Wednesday is the brain child of K. L. Schwengel. If you’d like to participate, post an excerpt from your WIP on your blog, something that relates to the date in some way. Then add your link here — where you can also read the other excerpts.

8 thoughts on “Arguing with a magic mirror for #WIPpet Wednesday”

  1. I always wonder if it’s the mirror lying or the interpretation lying. Images are so open to interpretation, just as much as words, but for some reason people don’t think images can lie.

    Anyway, great excerpt!

  2. I love this. I think this mirror is perfectly capable of lying, if it wants or needs to…

    This reminds me of a T’Pol moment. Captured, injured, alone, and outpowered, she’s asked if she’s telling the truth regarding the captain’s plans. “I”m a Syrrannite,”she answers. “We don’t lie.”

    The thing is – she’s not a Syrrannite. Trick answer, and she was totally lying about where Archer was, too.

    I’m guessing this mirror is both clever and motivated to withhold information…

  3. I have similar feelings about NaNo. I have so many other projects going on that I’m not sure I want to stop and just focus on one story. On the other hand, the challenge would be great, and I do have a novel that I just started that I could add 50K to in November. Guess I have to decide soon, though, don’t I? 🙂

    Your story has me really intrigued. I love the idea that the mirror might be able to lie–and if this is foreshadowing, what sort of lies will it tell her?

Leave a Reply

