An update, a new Nano project, and a change of mind

The writing continues to be slow but steady. Last week I got 4600 new words written, despite lots of other stuff going on. We finally pulled the tomato plants in the garden — all but two, that is. Let’s see if we can still get fresh tomatoes in December. *g*

I also decided to participate in Nano again, even though none of my projects is long enough. I’m going to cheat and conflate them, my goal being to get the 50,000 words and at least two new novellas done. 🙂 First, I want to finish Facets of Glass. To that end, I deleted several thousand words of notes to myself, so that I would know how much I actually still have to write. I’m thinking now that it’s going to need about another 20,000 words.

My “official” Nano project will be An Airship for Elise. It was originally a short story, but the critiques pretty universally said it had to be longer. I’m thinking that, if I can finish it, Airship will give me the other 30,000 words I need to reach the wordage goal. If not, I will then also get started on Shards of Glass, the third book in the Glassmakers trilogy.

One of the reasons I’m doing Airship is because I found this amazing premade cover, and I had to have it:

An Airship for Elise

Synopsis:

Elise Daimler wants nothing more than to be an engineer like her famous uncle, Gottlieb Daimler, the inventor of the motor car. But in 1888, German universities do not accept women as students.

At least Elise can work as an apprentice in her uncle’s workshop. And Uncle Gottlieb has a few strings he can pull.

Unfortunately, no one reckoned with the consequences …

BTW, over at Nano I’m specficrider, if you want to add me to your buddies. 🙂

On to WIPpet Wednesday! Dowager Princess Zilia is still alone with the magic mirror, which still refuses to speak to her. Nonetheless, she is beginning to have a change of mind about it, as you will see in this snippet (which has been edited for spoilers). I give you five paragraphs for the fifth day of the month:

The mirror listened, not interrupting, allowing her to air her thoughts.
“My son may be a fool, but I will not have him look the fool.”
In the mirror’s reflection, the glass apple on the sideboard caught a ray of sunlight, almost seeming to glow.
Zilia stared at the reflected image, glad she hadn’t hurled the apple away. Perhaps it still had a role to play.
She tapped her lips with one finger thoughtfully. “Perhaps if something unfortunate befell someone near to her — quite without any threats being made?” Zilia continued, still addressing the silent mirror — and her own reflection. There was something surprisingly helpful to conversing with herself through the magic mirror. She was speaking with the person she most trusted in the world, after all.

WIPpet Wednesday is the brain child of K. L. Schwengel. If you’d like to participate, post an excerpt from your WIP on your blog, something that relates to the date in some way. Then add your link here — where you can also read the other excerpts.

13 thoughts on “An update, a new Nano project, and a change of mind”

  1. That cover is AWESOME! I completely understand why it would inspire you to write away. I’m doing a “mini” NaNoWriMo – 750 words per day. It’s like torture but I’m doing it nonetheless. 🙂

    1. Thanks, Xina! Nano is going pretty well for me until now, but this is stuff I’ve done a lot of pre-writing on, so the words come easier. I just have to take the time to get them written!

  2. Nice excerpt Ruth. It’s interesting how with each excerpt you share of this part of the story, Zilia is becoming more fascinated by the mirror. Best of luck with NaNo. And I agree with Xina – great cover. 🙂

  3. I like the idea of writing two novellas instead of one novel for NaNoWriMo. I’m working on a novella at the moment, so NaNo didn’t seem like a good fit this year. Maybe next year I’ll try it your way!

    Intriguing excerpt, Ruth. I like how her relationship with the mirror is evolving.

  4. Oh, that cover is a thing of beauty.

    I’m a bit behind on your excerpts so I’m not quite sure what’s going on in this scene, but I do like that last line. It’s quite powerful.

  5. The cover itself is really evocative of steam punk. Can’t wait to see how the story develops, and I hope you do KEEP the cover! In this snippet, I didn’t feel so close to the narrator. She sounds just a little narcissist? Not sure I understand the ‘magic’ element, but I did like the reflections/glass apple. More next week? And I’m making goals on Nano despite a cold. Thank you, as always, Ruth, for visiting.

Leave a Reply

