Many words, a story sale, and then off to France!

The word production has been going quite well since I decided to do Nano again. Last week, I got 13,000 words written, and so far this week it’s another 5400. Doing word sprints has been helping a LOT (thank you, sprint pals!) No writing so far today, though — I’ve been packing and setting up my little netbook for the trip. Tomorrow I fly to Paris for the next Villa Diodati workshop. We won’t actually be in Paris, though. This is where we’ll be:

Three days and four night of writing talk and good food and critiquing great fiction (which I finally have to make a bit more progress on! I’ve been concentrating too much on word production lately.)

I also have some good news: I sold another short story the traditional way, with payment on publication, to the online zine Abyss and Apex. It’s another one of my Alaska stories in the Tales From Far Beyond North series, “Degrees of Separation.”

Finally, I’m going to be giving away another book next week, Almost all the Way Home From the Stars, a collection of stories I wrote with the late great Jay Lake. So far this year it’s sold a handful of copies, so I pulled it from other venues and put it in KDP Select so that I would be able to at least push it with free runs. Although I published it over a year ago, it still doesn’t have any reviews. Of course, the people who pick up a book during free runs may not be my target audience (I’ve gotten a lot of negative reviews for short story collections that way), but with at most 1 sale a month, even some reviews complaining about the short stories being short would be an improvement. So mark your calendars for Nov. 17 – 21, and grab yourself a copy sometime next week!

Now we come to WIPpet Wednesday! Math is fast and dirty today: 12 sentences for the 12th of the month from Facets of Glass — plus 2 to end the scene. 🙂 The Evil Dowager Princess is planning some nasty stuff involving a glass apple:

The dowager princess lifted the apple of glass up from the table next to the raised chair where she sat and handed it down to the witch. “I was wondering if there were some enchantment you could give to this apple to create the illusion of illness in someone.”
Vanna turned the apple over in her hands. “Create the illusion of illness?” she repeated.
Zilia shrugged. “I am not the wielder of magic, so I do not know what is possible.”
She noticed the precise moment when the witch found the clever wormhole in the glass apple. Her hands stilled, and she gazed at the spot, her forehead creasing in lines of thought. The dowager princess was struck once again by how few wrinkles lined Vanna’s face, given her silver-white hair. It made it very difficult to guess her age.
Vanna looked up form her contemplation of the apple, and her eyes met those of the dowager princess. “I believe I could insert a spell in this apple through the wormhole that might, under the right circumstances, seduce a soul to leave its body and be one with the enchanted apple.”
Zilia found herself — totally against her inclination and training — wanting to clap her hands in glee at the witch’s suggestion.
If it worked, it would be perfect.

WIPpet Wednesday is the brain child of K. L. Schwengel. If you’d like to participate, post an excerpt from your WIP on your blog, something that relates to the date in some way. Then add your link here — where you can also read the other excerpts.

12 thoughts on “Many words, a story sale, and then off to France!”

  1. Oh my…those two are making quite the pair. I can hardly wait…

    Beautiful weekend retreat! I’m sure you’ll have the most wonderful time. And many congrats on the sale.

  2. Dun Dun Dun…I’ve always wondered about relationships like this. Like how much is give and take, how much has to be given by the witch and how much can be futzed with in terms of what she has to do and what she can get away with. It’ll be interesting to see where you take it.

  3. I’m left wondering what Vanna is getting out of all this. Is it just that she’s being paid? Or does she also have some other motivation? They do have a deliciously wicked relationship there.

  4. Zillia you naughty little thing, you – being so happy about such a dastardly deed! Very nicely done. I could see the wormhole so clearly.

    Congratulations on the sale and on the great word count! How excellent!

    I wonder if you might be interested in a review swap of sorts. I’ve been looking for reviewers for my free short story collection as well: http://mybook.to/B00NBLUWA8. It only has one lukewarm review and I know it’s much better than that! Anyhow, I know you’re a good writer so I’m sure the short stories you wrote with Jay Lake are excellent. Let me know what you think.

    Also, France??? What an exotic, jetsetting life you live! 🙂

  5. Ooh she is evil isn’t she? Nice excerpt Ruth, quite ominous in fact. I’m hoping that Zilia won’t get her way, but I’m afraid she might!

    I hope you have a fabulous time in France – the place you’re going looks amazing. 🙂

  6. France for a writing workshop? I’m already imagining really good coffee and croissants for breakfast with fresh butter. Maybe a little pot of jam. May your writing be inspired (how could it not!). The snippet works well for tension between the two women: Vanna intrigued in spite of herself, while Zilia is deliciously devious. I’ve already bought your short story collection . . . and will put the title on my far too long list to review. I hope the KDP experiment works, but for now, enjoy that trip to the country.

  7. Even the knowledge that Zilia was tempted to clap her hands in glee like that makes her a more chilling character.

    Have a fabulous time in France. That place looks amazing!

Leave a Reply

