The guard and the princess for #WIPpet Wednesday

Hi, everyone, I’m back! I still haven’t really gotten back into the swing of things as far as writing is concerned, with only a measly 800 words written so far this week. But on the family front, things are looking a lot better, and my head is free for creativity again. In the next few days and weeks, I will be working on reestablishing my old writing habits, and hopefully the word counts will pick up again. I still have some present wrapping to do, but I got most of that done while I was still having more difficulty writing.

I realize that I have not yet done a write-up of the Villa Diodati workshop in France last month. I hope to get around to it in the next few days.

As a result of the family complications, I am woefully behind on all of my goals. Some of the things I did get done:

– Completed Life in the Fjord Lane and published to Createspace (I’m not sure if I want to bother publishing that one to Kindle, since it’s mostly a photography book)

– Published my first erotica story under a pen name

– Created the Epub version of Ein Krieger der Wikinger, the German translation of Judson Roberts’ Viking Warrior

– Set up a Countdown Deal for Shadow of Stone, including experiments in advertizing a 99c ebook

Gosh, looking at that list makes me feel that I got more done than I’d thought! Just not much in the new words department. But marketing and formatting and publishing has to get done too.

With the update out of the way, on to WIPpet Wednesday. This week I’m returning to Facets of Glass, and an excerpt directly following the last one you may or may not have seen here. As a result of critiques at the last Villa Diodati workshop, Gaetan’s name has been changed to Gaetano, since Gaetan didn’t sound Italian enough for my fellow writers. My math for 12/17 is to take 12 away from 17, giving me 5 paragraphs for today’s excerpt:

Gaetano bowed low, honored to be called into the presence of the dowager princess for a personal task.
When he straightened again, she gave him a warm smile. It always amazed him how beautiful she still was, although she was the mother of the most powerful prince in Venice. And today she was particularly stunning. The gleaming gold of her hair, usually covered, was pulled up on top of her head in a crown higher than the modest circlet she wore. In the back, curls tumbled artlessly around her long neck. Gaetano couldn’t help imaging how long her golden locks must be to achieve such an effect. Did they reach to her waist? Her hips?
He shook himself mentally. He shouldn’t be thinking about her this way — not only was she the female head of House Foscari (since no one took the new Princess Anastasia seriously) — she was old enough to be his mother. Not that anyone knew how old the dowager princess really was, but Prince Vittore was her son, and he was older than Gaetano.
Ergo … It was wrong on any number of levels to feel lust for Her Grace the Dowager Princess Zilia of the Foscari Dynatistic Princes of the Venetian Empire, Princess of Trentino, and Dowager Duchess of Ferrara.
There, much better. Reciting even a mere handful of her many formal titles in his mind made him feel much more like himself.

I doubt if I’ll have any time to post next week, since it’s Christmas Eve, and I will have a house full of people that I’ll be cooking for. So wishing you all a Merry Christmas ahead of time! As a little Christmas present from me, my short story collection Dragon Time is free through Saturday. 🙂

WIPpet Wednesday is the brain child of K. L. Schwengel. If you’d like to participate, post an excerpt from your WIP on your blog, something that relates to the date in some way. Then add your link here — where you can also read the other excerpts.

12 thoughts on “The guard and the princess for #WIPpet Wednesday”

  1. Welcome back, Ruth. Glad to hear that things are better on the family front. It’s tough once you slip out of your writing routine to find that groove again, but I’m sure you’ll get there. The holidays make it tougher, too–so many family/social obligations this time of year.

    Beautiful description of the dowager princess and Gaetano’s fascination with her!

  2. So glad your family is doing better!!!

    Ah, every woman’s dream. To be admired for her beauty well into her grandma years. 🙂 That young man better watch out. Zilia seems discreet from what we’ve read so far, but I wouldn’t put a self-serving dalliance beyond her, either.

  3. So glad to have you back, and that things are looking up, family-wise.

    I’m very interested to see how this attraction of Gaetano’s pans out. Will Zilia toy with him, or use his interest to manipulate him? Ignore it?

    I can’t think that she’s unaware….

    You have gotten a lot done, even with all the upheavals.

    I tried the Dragon Time link, and it didn’t work.

  4. I wonder what Zilia is thinking. I can’t imagine Gaetano was all that good at hiding his reaction to her. I’m putting my money on her using it to manipulate him.

  5. So glad you’re back and everything is going better!

    and mmmm MILFy. I like MILFy things lol. Great description of her. I definitely got a visual of what she’s looking like in this moment.

  6. Welcome back! And I’m glad your family stuff is improving. 🙂
    You really got a lot accomplished, and you should be proud of that, even if your word count was less than you had hoped. You got a LOT done! Yay, you!
    I enjoyed the WIPpet – I liked how he basically took a cold shower with some of her titles. Nothing like it for setting yourself below someone inappropriate. I’m SURE she knows the effect she has on him, and if she does NOT use it, she’s a fool, and she wouldn’t be as powerful as she seems to be and still be a fool. Ergo … ;->
    Merry Christmas next week, in case I don’t find myself back here again by then.

  7. Welcome back, Ruth. 🙂 Glad things are starting to level out for you. And, yeah, your list is pretty impressive. I would hardly call that not doing anything.

    I love this excerpt and the detail about the curls that gets him thinking about just how long her hair must be when it’s down. Then the attempt to talk himself out of certain thoughts by reciting her titles! Excellent.

Leave a Reply

