The first draft of Facets of Glass finished!

I put in a pretty intense writing week in order to earn my little monster, as I explained in this post.

So in order to complete the challenge by the end of the month, I wrote 8000 words this week. The week before, my word count was 5700. And all of that constantly looking up details about glassmaking, travel times in the 17th – 18th century, Bohemian glassworks, regions in Venice, etc. etc.

I know from experience that writing projects that don’t require a lot of research can result in way more words in the same amount of time spent writing, but Facets of Glass isn’t one of those. Though I will admit that I ran by the seat of my pants in more than one scene, making notes to myself about things I will have to research later on the rewrite. 🙂

But now at least I have a complete first draft of Facets of Glass, the second book in the Age of Magic series after Island of Glass, even if it’s pretty rough on some of its edges. I also have a cover:

Facets of Glass

I’ve also been doing 20 minutes of yoga almost every day since the beginning of the new year, even though it wasn’t on my list of goals. 🙂 But it’s making my old joints feel a lot better — and I’ve dropped a kilo without really trying. So I think I’m a convert. *g*

6 thoughts on “The first draft of Facets of Glass finished!”

  1. Congrats on finishing your draft, Ruth! And so glad to see you back on the ROW (or maybe I’ve just been hitting it too early to see you). Your cover looks great! And enjoy your little monster when you get him. 🙂

  2. Well done on finishing your draft and your writing progress, Ruth. 🙂 That cover is really lovely, it’s got me wanting to check out the first book. I hope you’re having a great week!

Leave a Reply

