A little flirtation for #WIPpet Wednesday

The writing has been going quite well for the past few weeks. I’ve been consistently getting over 1000 words a day written, with a few exceptions here and there, like when I was putting stuff together for our taxes. It’s something of a breakthrough for me, since for years I’ve regarded it as a particularly good writing day if I get 700-800 words completed.

It started when I decided to power through and get the rough draft of Facets of Glass finished by the end of the month — which I did, hurray! (That is also the reason I didn’t participate last Wednesday, because I couldn’t afford to spend the time necessary for blogging.) But the tempo was becoming so natural, I decided to keep up with it. Today I already did my 1000 words, so I can afford to blog. 🙂

With that short update, let’s continue on to WIPpet Wednesday, shall we? Today I offer you 4 paragraphs for the 4th day of the month. This snippet comes immediately after the last one I gave you two weeks ago. Gaetano is delivering the gift from the Dowager Princess to Minerva, who is quite intrigued by him:

Minerva examined him more closely. He looked vaguely familiar, but she couldn’t recall where she might have seen him before. But when it came right down to it, from his posture and his build, he looked more like a soldier than a footman.
She looked at the small box he held, making no move to take it, enjoying the little guessing game too much. “Is it from the Marquess of Sagredo?” she asked teasingly, gazing at him from under her lashes. Despite the look, which she knew from long practice was very effective at persuading men to fulfill her every whim, the footman revealed nothing.
“He was very attentive at the ball last week,” Minerva continued, as Guilia arrived with refreshments. She took a glass of wine off the tray and gave it to him, then took the other for herself, enjoying the renewed hint of surprise on his handsome features.
“Or perhaps it was Baron Moneta?” she mused, still gazing at the oh-so-serious footman. She would love to get a real reaction out of him, but she was slowly coming to the conclusion that it was not to be. At the same time, the feeling of familiarity irked her. If only she could remember where she’d seen him before!

Snow White
A cool Snow White stamp from Grenada. I’m using many motifs from Snow White in Facets of Glass

WIPpet Wednesday is the brain child of K. L. Schwengel. If you’d like to participate, post an excerpt from your WIP on your blog, something that relates to the date in some way. Then add your link here — where you can also read the other excerpts.

19 thoughts on “A little flirtation for #WIPpet Wednesday”

  1. Hmm. I’m wondering how she’s going to react when she finds out who the gift is really from. Lots of suspense!

    Our writing speeds sound similar. I’ve been trying to gradually increase my daily word count, aiming for 1,000 to 1,500 words per day–ideally closer to the upper end. We’ll see how this experiment goes.

    Good luck with your writing, Ruth!

  2. Sizzle, sizzle….I like the energy here, and the game being played, on both sides.

    I was just thinking that my daily blogging seems to be becoming far more routine and natural. Now, if I could do the same with my revisions….one step at a time…

    Hooray on the word counts, and may they continue. By the way, I love that stamp. =)

      1. I seem to have a multi-track mind. I do the blogposts in stages, between other things, and i often find that they help me to crystallize ideas and themes for other projects.

        It helps me to keep to a deadline, and keep coming up with new ideas…

        I don’t keep social media turned on, generally, unless I intend to connect in that way.

    1. Thanks! BTW, I tried to post a return comment on your blog, but I can’t get it to work. Blogspot doesn’t seem to want to let me post anymore. After the “please prove you’re not a robot”, it just keeps waiting and waiting … 5 minutes now!

  3. Sorry Minerva, it sounds like a hint of surprise is the best reaction you’re likely to get…

    Congratulations on both your increased wordcount and finishing your draft! And that is a lovely stamp. Feels like it’d be a crime to actually use it when it’s presented so nicely…

    1. Thanks! I tend to feel that way about beautiful stamps in real life. 🙂

      BTW, I tried to post a return comment on your blog, but it doesn’t work. Blogger doesn’t seem to want to let me post anymore. After I click on “please prove you’re not a robot”, I just get a wait symbol that doesn’t go away.

      1. Beautiful stamps are amazing. There aren’t enough of them in the world, really.

        Blogger has… issues, I think. I don’t know why you’re getting that on mine, because I’m sure I made commenting available to everyone. I’ll have another look, but it’s no big problem, honestly.

        Perhaps it’s upset you’re *not* a robot, that’s where the issue is. You’ve proved your not, and now it’s offended. :p

  4. I love how he isn’t reacting to her at all. I wish I had that talent! I wonder how she’s going to react when she finds out who the gift is from.

  5. Gah, I love this! I love the flirtatiousness, and I love that anticipatory feeling. SOMETHING is going to happen, or be revealed, or something….BUT WHAT? *sigh* *prepares herself to keep waiting*

Leave a Reply

