What was with that apple? #WIPpet Wednesday and an update

Snow White and the apple

As many of you have noticed in previous weeks, many of the motifs in Facets of Glass come from the fairy tale Snow White. But just as I used the motifs from Cinderella in very different ways in Island of Glass, so too in this book. It is not a witch who brings the apple to Minerva, or even the Evil Dowager Princess, it is the unsuspecting member of the Foscari House Guard, Gaetano. In this excerpt, which comes a couple of paragraphs after the one I provided last week, Gaetano is starting to suspect something after all. My math for 3/4: 3 + 4 = 7 paragraphs:

With Guilia gone, he took one of Minerva’s hands and gazed into her beautiful young face, quiet now, no longer vivacious. She lay stretched out on the floor, seemingly asleep, one arm flung wide away from her body. Gaetano recalled all the uncharitable thoughts he’d had about her when Dowager Princess Zilia asked him to bring her the gift of the apple.
Why had the smelling salts not worked? Could the apple have something to do with it? The gift he had brought?
At the thought, he glanced at her hands, but her palms were open. When she fainted, she must have lost hold of the apple. But there were no shards around her prone figure, so the apple had presumably rolled away.
The surgeon hurried in and took Gaetano’s place at Minerva’s side. The medicus was followed by at least a dozen family members, wringing their hands and making a worried racket.
He stepped back and watched the proceedings, hoping that the Signorina would soon be her normal lively self again — as superficial as he thought her vivaciousness.
But he had never before been offered refreshments by his superiors during his normal duties.
As Gaetano surreptitiously left Palazzo Dragoni, he worried about the role he might have unwillingly played in Minerva’s fainting spell. The thunk of her head as it hit the floor of the palazzo echoed through his mind on the trip back to Venice.

WIPpet Wednesday is the brain child of K. L. Schwengel. If you’d like to participate, post an excerpt from your WIP on your blog, something that relates to the date in some way. Then add your link here — where you can also read the other excerpts.

On to the weekly progress report. I have a head cold, and as I am not one of those people who works well with a stuffy head (who is?), my word counts have gone down again. Add to that the next big translation project which came in on Friday. What it adds up to is that I am no longer flirting with 1000 words a day. Instead, I’m adjusting my goals downwards to 500 words a day. But since I had trouble even getting that done during the last big translation project, my main goal will be to find a better balance with this book. Up until now, I seem to be achieving it. Since I started on this Viking translation, I’ve been getting 400-500 words a day written as well. As long as I can continue to make consistent progress on both my own projects and the translation, I will be okay with that.

18 thoughts on “What was with that apple? #WIPpet Wednesday and an update”

  1. Balance is the key. I am balancing a show and writing/editing. Best of luck on the translation project and writing. I missed last week, but loving the snippets. 🙂

  2. Great snippet, Ruth! I love fairy tales, so seeing someone work with one and put a new spin on it is wonderful.

    Hope you feel better soon. And I think 500 words a day is a great goal, especially if you’re doing translation work too.

  3. I like this spin on the Snow White tale. I particularly like the Italian setting, and Gaetano is a a great sympathetic character – I like that sort of role reversal thing.

  4. Great excerpt. That must feel awful, thinking he’s responsible in some way. Poor Gaetano.

    I hear you on feeling icky. That was me last week. Hope you feel better soon.

  5. I really like the descriptions here as Gaetano analyzes what went wrong and that family gathers around, making a racket. I also like how Gaetano sees himself as a servant yet reveals his personality and worries — that may well be invisible to those who employ him. Hope you soon get over that cold . . . and keep writing.

  6. That line about her head thunking on the floor — when I was in grade school, I went to sit sideways in a desk chair and somehow lost my grip and topple out backwards. The first thing to hit the ground was my head. I know how that feels and sounds.

    I hope good things for Gaetona. Poor guy.

  7. We got back from Oregon nine days back…and I got a head cold two days later. Two days after that, my laptop developed an issue,

    I’m using my son’s battered old machine while warranty process moves forward slowly…. It needs lots of time to do anything, and it’s at its best doing only one thing at a time (my mind doesn’t naturally work that way!)

    Long story short,no new writing at all for me, just lately, other than a blog post or two.

    But my house is a lot cleaner, and ideas are starting to build…I sense a surge, once my laptop is ready to go again!

    I think we all have these times when other things take precedence, and that’s just life. Seeking a balance seems like a fine response! =)

    I love the snippet. Gaetano is fast becoming a favorite, with me. =)

  8. Hope you feel better soon! Sometimes real life creeps in and we have to make adjustments – like others have said – balance. I’m enjoying this take on Snow White. Sounds like the guilt is creeping in on Gaetano.

  9. Poor Gaetano. I do like how his opinion of Minerva has started to change though, and the guilt building up in him. It sounds like it’ll make for an interesting return to his employer…

    Even if it’s not on the level you’re used to, I think getting even a little writing done when you’ve got another project on the go as well is brilliant! Good luck with your translation as well. 🙂

Leave a Reply

