What became of the apple? A #WIPpet Wednesday snippet.

Before I get back to Facets of Glass, a brief update on my progress for the week. I continue to move forward steadily on the translation. It certainly helps that the first book in the series, Ein Krieger der Wikinger, is selling like gangbusters. Since Jud and I have a translation model where I am paid much less up front for a much higher percentage of the royalties, that means it probably won’t be too much longer before I’ve earned out on my advance for the translation and will start earning from the first book. In addition, most of the reviews so far express eagerness to read the next book in the series. 🙂

Despite the translation work, I’m maintaining a much better balance between that and my own writing than I did while working on the first book. Last week, I got 3500 new words written, in a addition to the formatting of Chameleon in a Mirror for Createspace. So far this week, I got the wraparound cover made and uploaded and have gotten about 1200 words on my own stuff written. Not breaking any records, but as long as I can continue to make consistent progress in the face of translation, I’ll be happy.

Chameleon in a Mirror cover

With the update out of the way, let’s move on to Facets of Glass, shall we? Gaetano just reported back to the Dowager Princess after taking the glass apple to Minerva. Today I will continue the scene right where we left off last week, with 18 sentences for the day of the month — plus one to finish the scene:

“And the apple?” the princess asked — much too casually.
He pretended innocence. “The apple?”
“What became of it? The gift?”
Gaetano shrugged. “I fear I do not know, Your Grace. When the prince’s sister-in-law lost consciousness, I was only concerned for her well-being.”
“As of course you should.” To his ears, it sounded as if the words were recited by rote. A brief pause. “So you have no idea what became of it?”
“Of what, Your Grace?” he said, although he knew exactly what she referred to.
“The apple.” Now there was a hint of impatience in her voice.
“When the signorina lost consciousness, it must have rolled away. I did not see it after that.” Now he was almost certain that the apple had something to do with Minerva’s mishap. But what could the dowager princess possibly have against the young woman?

WIPpet Wednesday is the brain child of K. L. Schwengel. If you’d like to participate, post an excerpt from your WIP on your blog, something that relates to the date in some way. Then add your link here — where you can also read the other excerpts.

13 thoughts on “What became of the apple? A #WIPpet Wednesday snippet.”

  1. I think Gaetano should maybe start watching his back about now. I love that you’re telling this from his POV.

    Congratulations on the translation work and still keeping your writing going! That’s exciting. 🙂

  2. I love this, ““Of what, Your Grace?” he said, although he knew exactly what she referred to.” Such a game he’s playing, but he better be careful or I’m going to start worrying about him.

  3. Looks like Gaetano is starting to realise that 2 + 2 = 4. I hope his dancing around the point doesn’t come back to bite him.

    Congrats on the excellent progress! The wraparound looks great!

  4. “But what could the dowager princess possibly have against the young woman?” Gaetano’s naiveté is sweet, but it sounds like he better start being very careful because it’s also the kind of thing that can be very dangerous… and it looks like he’s starting to realise just how scary his mistress might be.

    Congratulations on your translation! And that is a very beautiful cover. 🙂 I’ve only had to do one before and it was an… interesting learning experience, haha, and the originator of the only bemused form email I’ve ever received after I accidentally uploaded a PDF of the story instead of the cover while I was tired…

  5. Oh, Gaetano…you might want to find a new employer, if you can…because I believe the DP is not going to be this sweet forever – especially if she realizes that you found Minerva so appealing…

    Love the cover, and love that you’re striking a happier balance with this project. =)

Leave a Reply

