Second quarter goals

I got a bit sidetracked yesterday by the hijacking of the Hugo Awards for SFF, which I wrote about in my last post. Now that is off my chest, I can get back to business: my goals for the next quarter.

For the next couple of weeks, this list and my blog will be largely on hiatus while I try to catch up with relatives on another continent.

Shards of Glass Writing:

– Write an average of 2500 words a week.

– Finish Shards of Glass (that btw is not the final cover, so any and all comments and suggestions welcome!)

– Write 3 new short stories

– Revise “Pool of Souls” and send it out

Blog:

– Write a report on Villa Diodati 14

– Wrap up the series “Starting out as an indie author”

– Update my book page here and on my web page, ruthnestvold.com

Writing business:

– 500 words a day of translation

– Schedule more promotions for my books

– List books with Babelcube & Noisetrade

– Publish “Starting Out as an Indie Author” as ebook

– Publish “The Shadow Artist” as ebook

– Put together collection of my writing articles with Jay Lake

– Put together collection of fantasy stories with Jay

– Write newsletter update for my subscribers

– Find more reviewers for CIAM and Island of Glass

– Start splitting up Shadow of Stone like I did Yseult

Wishing everyone a successful Round of Words!

3 thoughts on “Second quarter goals”

  1. A lot of goals, but all ones that you’ve got a good handle on there, Ruth. It’s a new round, and yet, it’s all one step after another, after another. We keep building on the work that came before.

    You’ve got a solid foundation. You’ll hold out just fine. Enjoy your visits!

  2. An ambitious set of goals to be sure, but as much progress as you made last quarter, I’ve no doubt you’ll conquer these goals, too. Love the cover, even if it’s not final (it looks like it could be)! Good luck and have a great week!

  3. Beautiful book cover! I love the pose and the title font. If you really want the foreground image to pop off the page, lighten the tonal-range on the buildings in the background and adjust your depth-of-field focus onto the girl. This will separate the girl in the foreground from the background, defining her form better. By slightly lightening the background image and lessening it’s focus and detail (think fog), it pushes the background back, pushes the girl towards the reader, and adds a mysterious, atmospheric dimension in between. It’s really close, though. Again, beautiful!

Leave a Reply

