Second quarter accounting, and a glass coffin for #wippet Wednesday

My final update for this quarter will be mercifully brief: I pretty much failed on all fronts. I did not keep up on my word counts, either writing or translation. I did not wrap up my indie author series, although I am now at a word count above what I was originally shooting for. I did not finish Shards of Glass or revise my short story “Pool of Souls” to start sending it out.

On the other hand, I did submit 10 short stories to traditional markets this round, the most I have managed in one quarter in years. Perhaps I can make it the basis of a new, better submission practice (not in the Shades of Grey sense …)

I also wrote the report for the most recent Villa Diodati workshop. And while my list of unfinished publishing goals remains much too long, I am getting nearer to a collection of my previously published short stories set in Oregon, where I grew up. The Scrivener file is nearly good to go, and here is the cover I put together the other day:

oregon elsewise

The photo was taken on the trip home in April, a big part of the reason I’m so far behind on all my goals. Do let me know what you think of the cover!

My update thankfully out of the way, we can move on to WIPpet Wednesday! That’s another thing I’ve been very bad about this round, so far behind on everything as I’ve been. Two weeks ago, I left you in Facets of Glass with Gaetano lying to the Dowager Princess. Today I give you 6 paragraphs from where we left off, 2+4 for the day of the month — and a brief reprieve for our hero:

She waved one graceful hand in the air. “It is no matter. You did your best. I have another task for you now. Minerva sleeps as if dead, showing no signs of waking, although she still breathes. The prince would like a glass coffin made for his sister-in-law, in which all can see her until that time she should wake.”
What a strangely morbid thing to do. Gaetano doubted if the prince had anything to do with this particular plan — if nothing else, he probably lacked the creativity to come up with such an idea.
“As the glassmakers of Murano specialize in fine, delicate glass, we have decided to commission a glassworks shop in Bohemia with the job,” the dowager princess continued. “They are much better in creating the hardier glass necessary. I have heard that many of their famous glassmakers are gem cutters as well as glass cutters.”
Gaetano nodded dutifully. “As you say, Your Grace.”
“Once we have worked out the details, we would like you to travel to Bohemia to an appropriate glassmaker there.”
“Alone, Your Grace? Or with a detail of Foscari House Guards?”

WIPpet Wednesday is the brain child of K. L. Schwengel. If you’d like to participate, post an excerpt from your WIP on your blog, something that relates to the date in some way. Then add your link here — where you can also read the other excerpts.

11 thoughts on “Second quarter accounting, and a glass coffin for #wippet Wednesday”

  1. Gaetano’s question at the end seemed… odd. It doesn’t feel like he should be asking so much as stating a presumption that he would gather a squad together immediately and have the Dowager approve or disapprove such an idea. But… that could be me, and my own admittedly limited idea of how people in such positions would act.

    And… progress the achievement (and not) of it. Travel takes a lot out of you sometimes. Go with it. I know you rely on your writing a lot more than the rest of use, Ruth, but you’re also allowed to have some off time too. And… you made some great progress with your submissions. That definitely counts.

  2. Glad to see you back at ROW80! I haven’t seen you much this round, maybe you’re just posting after I check.

    I usually find it hard to write when traveling. But at least you got a good book cover photo from it, and sending out 10 short stories is a great accomplishment. Good luck with them, and hope to see you next round!

  3. Yeah, this quarter was a slow period for me, too. It happens. A trip to Oregon sounds fantastic. I’ve never been there but it looks like such a beautiful place.

    Great snippet this week. It sounds like Gaetano has an interesting journey ahead of him.

  4. I like how Gaetano thinks. He’s surrounded by these pretentious people doing bizarre things, and he’s well aware of how weird their wishes are. I wonder what interesting things he will find on his journey.

  5. A glass coffin for someone still alive – very morbid indeed!

    The cover looks amazing! Don’t worry too much about goals, sometimes other things come up that need to take priority, even if we wish they didn’t!

  6. I really like the cover! And the tagline, too.

    I hope that Gaetano is going to come out of this all unscathed (I imagine this is the case, but I’m fearing for him anyway). I just caught up on your last WIPpet too so that this one made a bit more sense, and now I’m hoping that the dowager princess has believed everything he said and isn’t just humouring him.

  7. You know, I read this, and I can’t help thinking what a shame it is that the Dowager Princess didn’t take her son in hand and teach him a few things earlier on. She’s so clever, but he seems somewhat… not. I think I dislike her all the more when I think of this contrast. Surely, an attentive mother would help him to develop some talents. Maybe not morbid creativity, but something to keep him from being written off so lightly by a lowly guard.

  8. It kind of sounds like she wants Gaetano out the way: it doesn’t sound entirely safe, if he’s asking about taking house guards with him just to commission a glass coffin… I love the line “what a strangely morbid thing to do” too. The Dowager Princess is a scary, scary lady…

Leave a Reply

