A Viking collaboration visit: Judson Roberts in Oregon

One of the advantages of my recent trip to Oregon and Washington was that I was finally able to meet fellow writer and collaborator Judson Roberts in person. It so happens that he lives less than an hours’ drive away from my father, so we went to his house one evening for dinner.


Me, Jud, and his wife, Jeanette

They fed us venison and showed us around their farm, where we met the energetic dog and the berserk duck (r.i.p). And it’s funny how meeting in person gives the whole project a much more personal feeling. Virtual isn’t everything.

Jud and I know each other from the Codex Workshop, and a while back, he persuaded me to translate his book Viking Warrior into German — as a collaborator. Part of the deal is that when he publishes the German books, I am listed with him as author. I get a lower advance for the translations, but a higher percentage of the royalties.

Ruth Nestvold, Judson Roberts

Since my name is also on these books (or rather, on the first one until now, Ein Krieger der Wikinger), it’s especially important to me that the translation is as good as I can make it. That in turn, however, slows down the translation process. I find myself doing a lot of research into Viking terms and historical figures of the period and have acquired several books on the subject. 🙂

Right now, I am not quite halfway through the second book, Dragons From the Sea / Drachen aus dem Meer. We have a lot of visits from the States scheduled for the summer, but I’m still hoping to get the translation done by October. Then my husband will still have to proofread it. If he and I can stay on schedule, the next book can hopefully be published in December this year.


I wonder what Chris REALLY thinks about all that proofreading

4 thoughts on “A Viking collaboration visit: Judson Roberts in Oregon”

Leave a Reply

