21 days to habit: Third quarter goals

Last round, I had a hard time getting back into a regular routine after the extended visit to the States. About the only thing I was able to keep on track with in accordance with my goals was the translation.

As a result, my main goal for the rest of this summer will be to somehow find my way back to the good habits I had managed to develop earlier this year in balancing translation and my own writing. It will be a challenge, since we have multiple visits from the States in the upcoming weeks, starting with my brother on Saturday. Habits are powerful things, as Kait Nolan pointed out. I’ve read that it takes 21 days to create a habit — for good or for ill.

It will be difficult to find those 21 days to get back to the good habits I lost, but I’m determined to find a way, especially given how frustrated I’ve been in recent weeks. Recently I’ve been cutting back on social media, and I’m seeing the first positive effects. The translation was up in the last week, and I’ve gotten a lot of my hard copy notes on Facets of Glass and Shards of Glass (the follow-up books to Island of Glass) into my Scrivener file, resulting in a nice jump in word count. Wish me luck in keeping that up!

Goals for this round:
Writing:

– Write an average of 2500 words a week.

– Finish Shards of Glass

– Write 3 new short stories

– Revise “Pool of Souls” and send it out

Writing business:

– 500 words a day of translation

– Schedule ongoing promotions for my books

– Publish Almost All the Way Home From the Stars to Createspace

– Publish Oregon Elsewise to Createspace

– Submit 5 short stories to traditional markets

– List books with Babelcube & Noisetrade

– Publish “Starting Out as an Indie Author” as ebook

– Publish “The Shadow Artist” as ebook

– Put together collection of my writing articles with Jay Lake

– Put together collection of fantasy stories with Jay

– Write newsletter update for my subscribers

– Find more reviewers for CIAM and Island of Glass

To wrap up, here one of my favorite distractions, my granddaughters:

Random weird fact: the summer sweater Lisa is wearing is something she chose to save from my old stuff, one of my favorites in (much) skinnier days. Hard to imagine it ever fit me at all as an adult, when I see it on a 13-year-old!

4 thoughts on “21 days to habit: Third quarter goals”

  1. I’ve also heard the 21 days to make a habit line; I’m hoping I’ll be able to form some good ones this round, too. Good luck for the next 80 days!

  2. I’m trying to get back into a solid writing routine, too. I think 2,500 words/week is a reasonable goal. Good luck this round, Ruth! And I look forward to seeing “Starting out as an Indie Author” in ebook form! What is “The Shadow Artist” about? The title sounds intriguing.

  3. Do you know that sweaters, and indeed all manner of clothes, can magically transform themselves into whatever size they choose – when we’re not looking, of course! So it wasn’t you at all! 😀

  4. I’d say those are some good and varied goals. 2500 words a week? You got this!! And it’s good to have two nice distractions! Have a great week Ruth!!

Leave a Reply

