A visit, some travel, & an update for #WIPpet Wednesday

I missed another WIPpet Wednesday last week, as a result of the first of a number of visits from the States this summer. This is what I was doing last Wednesday:

Weil der Stadt

Herrenberg

We went to Weil der Stadt (the birthplace of Johannes Kepler) and Herrenberg on Wednesday, and Maulbronn on Thursday, a UNESCO World Heritage site:

Maulbronn

While my brother was here, we also did general catching up, some local walking, visited a nearby beer garden, hung out with grandkids / grandnieces, went to the garden, and tried to stay cool (we’ve been suffering from a heat wave). I managed to keep up with my translation, but not my writing goals, only managing 1500 words of fiction last week.

David left for France on Sunday. And this week I started a new writing strategy, alternating bouts of research and / or plotting with writing sprints. I tend to write stuff that is heavy on the research, which makes it hard to just barrel ahead as many successful writers advise. So I figured I would try an alternate strategy: a stretch of research and organizational writing until I got to the point where I could sprint a scene or two.

The results are promising: 1200 words on Monday and 1000 on Tuesday, while still maintaining my translation goals. If I can manage to keep this up, I will be very, very happy. 🙂

With the update out of the way, we can return to Facets of Glass for WIPpet Wednesday. Today I’m giving you 7 paragraphs for the 7th month, including the last one from the excerpt I gave you two weeks ago for context. Gaetano has been having some odd visions he doesn’t know how to relate to:

Suddenly his vision returned, and he drew a ragged breath, staring down at the motionless form of Minerva. Was he imagining things, or was he somehow enchanted too? The feeling of being trapped in his own body had been so strong, it bordered on panic.
Please do not give up on me!
Gaetano shook his head. Was Minerva speaking in his mind now? He didn’t know if he could trust the feeling. He had little direct experience of magic, and during the early years of his life, many people had actually regarded magic as a superstition. But although he had been so young, he could still remember how he had felt the day magic had been set free, how the air had seemed brighter and the colors stronger, the terracotta tiles of the roofs brilliant instead of bland, the beige white-washed walls like sunlight.
“Come, a few moments more will not hurt,” Anastasia said, and he realized she assumed he had been shaking his head in response to her request.
“Certainly we can remain, Your Grace,” he said to sooth her.
“Ah, where has my sister gone,” the princess said, her voice sad.
I’m here, I’m here! the voice practically screamed in his mind. I just cannot wake up!

WIPpet Wednesday is the brain child of K. L. Schwengel. If you’d like to participate, post an excerpt from your WIP on your blog, something that relates to the date in some way. Then add your link here — where you can also read the other excerpts.

21 thoughts on “A visit, some travel, & an update for #WIPpet Wednesday”

  1. Oh, poor Minerva! Trapped in her own body, and now the only person who can hear her is half-convinced he’s losing his mind… Heck, poor Gaetano! Makes me intrigued to find out if he can hear her when he’s sent away too… and if his mistress might suspect, if she’s sending him away…

    1. Ack, broke too early… meant to say as well, those views are so beautiful! With places like that to visit, and with family too, I’m amazed you even managed 1500 words!

  2. What a lovely last Wednesday you had, Ruth! I missed you, but wholly support your absence.

    This snippet just keeps getting better and better! I am intrigued!

    Sounds like you’ve hit on a great idea for alternating types of writing. I’ve been doing the same with blogging/drafting, and it certainly keeps my mind fresher and the momentum moving forward, while allowing for all the randomness life seems determined to offer me, of late….

  3. Sounds like you had a great time!

    Let me know how your new writing strategy goes. One of my world’s takes a lot of building. I wonder if I could do something similar.

    I think it’s sweet that Minerva has chosen Gaetano. Or does it have something to do with prick he got? Either way, I look forward to hearing more of the story.

  4. Having come up with something of a similar strategy lately for getting stuff done, I have to agree… it seems to work well. Hope it holds out for you.

    And that was an excellent reason to miss WIPpet Wednesday… or any online day. Real Life does take precedence. But I’m glad you came back with that snippet…. the magic certainly has had a lasting effect on Gaetano.

  5. How awesome and adventurous!! Someday I will get to travel across the pond. I enjoy hearing about those adventures of friends and writer cohorts exploits in far away lands!

    I am loving Facet of Glass. Gaetano is such as interesting character. Thank you for sharing!

    I am at least trying to write daily and work on the current WIP and that is coming along, even with the busy weekends.

Leave a Reply

