Book covers and an enchanted hero for #WIPpet Wednesday

I missed last week again, sorry. I was finalizing the paperback version of my latest collection of short stories, Oregon Elsewise, containing previously published works set in the state where I grew up — and that in many ways still feels like home. While I was at it, I decided to also finally put together the new paperback version of Almost All the Way Home From the Stars, the collection of published science fiction stories I wrote with Jay Lake. The original paperback version was done by Draft2Digital, and I was never completely happy with it, so doing it myself has long been on my to-do list. At the same time, I tweaked the cover a bit, trying to make the font stand out more. Here’s what I have now:

Collection with Jay Lake, new cover

For the sake of comparison, here’s the old:

I was noticing that in thumbnail, the font on the old version was looking unfinished somehow, so I decided to mess with it. Happy to hear any feedback you might have!

With all the work on formatting interiors and creating / messing with covers, I haven’t gotten a lot of writing done in the last week or so. Last week, I managed 1600 new words on Shards of Glass. I also did some editing, and cut 2000 words from the manuscript — which means I ended up with a weekly total of -400 words! 🙂

For Wippet Wednesday, we will back up and return to the previous book, Facets of Glass, which is also still in draft mode, so I’m not cheating. I’m just waiting to finish this last book before I go back and start on the edits of the second.

Two weeks ago, we left Gaetano talking with the unconscious Minerva while her sister watches in amazement. This excerpts picks up exactly where that one left off. Today I am giving you 12 sentences for the day of the month, plus 1 to finish the paragraph:

“Who are you speaking to?” Anastasia asked.
“Your sister. She asked me if I am the one who enchanted her. But I have no magic.” Nor did the dowager princess. But she had access to a bevy of witches and alchemists to turn lead into gold and beautiful young women into living corpses.
“Do you have any idea who might have done this to my sister?” Anastasia asked.
“No,” he lied. He still had to stay on the good side of the dowager princess. And he couldn’t trust Anastasia to keep his suspicions to herself.
Anastasia clapped her hands to her cheeks. “Enchanted! Perhaps I can find a witch to lift the spell.”

WIPpet Wednesday is the brain child of K. L. Schwengel. If you’d like to participate, post an excerpt from your WIP on your blog, something that relates to the date in some way. Then add your link here — where you can also read the other excerpts.

9 thoughts on “Book covers and an enchanted hero for #WIPpet Wednesday”

  1. I think the book cover is on the right track. The changes are subtle, but the newer version has a cleaner look to it. Good luck with it!

    Love this week’s excerpt. I have a weakness for fairy tale retellings, and yours is definitely a fresh take on a classic tale. I look forward to reading more!

  2. So much exciting stuff going on for you! I’ll be looking forward to the Oregon stories (being married to an Oregonian and planning to become one and all).

    I love the cover changes, Like Denise said, they’re subtle but cleaner.

    And Gaetano is such an interesting hero – and quite good at thinking on his feet. I’m impressed!

  3. I like the goldish font!

    So now I wonder what Gaetano plans to do about his tenuous position. It must be hard to choose between an innocent girl talking to you in your head and a princess with the means to remove said head.

  4. Gaetano is such an interesting character and each time I come back his depth increases. I can’t wait to see what decisions he makes and how this all resolves for him.

  5. I like the cover, but there’s something about the copy arrangement of the title that bothers me. I can’t really put my finger on what. I think it’s either the long top line, or the little ‘the’ and it’s placement.

    Great excerpt as usual. I’m so curious as to how Gaetano is going to get through this.

  6. I definitely like the new cover better, the new title and name placements give you a less cluttered impression, and show off the background without disguising the planet so much.

    I love Anastasia’s almost childlike reaction to Gaetano’s revelation, and that she seems to think it’ll be so simple to help Minerva. I feel bad for her that it inevitably won’t be…

Leave a Reply

